Half day excursion to Murano, Burano and Torcello

Duration: approx. 240 min Location: Venice

Boat Tour

Why choose this tour?

  1. Because you can discover the ancient traditions of Venice with a short boat trip to the most famous islands for just €20 per person

  2. Because the embarkation point can be easily reached in a few minutes from St Mark’s Square

  3. Because it allows you to get an overview of Murano, Burano and Torcello without taking too much time away from visiting Venice

20.00

Check dates
Please, select a language
Select language
Choose a date
Input data

no. of adults
no. of 2 - 6 year-old children
no. of children up to 2 Years
Total Price

0.00


This fascinating boat trip in Venice offers you a Murano, Burano and Torcello half-day sightseeing tour without taking too much time away from visiting Venice: our Venice lagoon trip has, in fact, a total duration of four hours and includes short stops on all three islands.

 

Away from the tourist routes , Torcello, Burano and Murano islands preserve the most authentic traditions of Venice. With this excursion among the Venice, Italy lagoon islands, you will leave the town centre and soak in the tranquil atmosphere of Murano, Burano and Torcello for a half-day.

 

The Venice Lagoon boat trip starts a few steps from St Mark’s Square, near the Ponte della Paglia, at the desk of Serenissima Motoscafi. A hostess will escort you to the point of embarkation, where you can board the Venice boat tour to Murano.

 

On board the boat, the guide will give you some information about the lagoon and its islands - this Venice boat excursion provides multilingual explanations carried out with a microphone inside the boat. During the breaks you can decide whether to carry out the program of the excursion or visit the islands independently.

 

The first stop on our visit to the Venice islands lagoon will be to the Venice island of Murano, known throughout the world for its ancient tradition of glass making. The stop will last about 40 minutes and include an optional visit to a glass factory with a demonstration of the art of glass blowing. Alternatively, you can enjoy your trip to Murano island on your own, while respecting the anticipated duration of the stop.

 

The excursion then continues to the Venice island of Burano, the bustling island famous for its colourful houses and the hand-crafted lace work, true works of art made of lace that can be purchased at local shops or street stalls. During the break of about 35 minutes, you can visit one of the lace shops or dedicate this time to explore the island on your own.

 

Torcello, the largest centre in the Venetian Lagoon before the birth of the Republic of Venice, will be the last stop of this fascinating Venice boat tour. This mystical island combines intense spirituality with many examples of great historical and artistic importance, such as the Basilica of Santa Maria Assunta, the legendary Devil's Bridge and Attila’s throne. During the break of approximately 45 minutes, you can admire the remains of its former glory walking through the untouched nature that characterizes the island.

 

Among the many boat trips and day trips to Murano and Burano  in the lagoon, our boat tour of Venice islands to Murano, Burano and Torcello is distinguished by its very attractive price and the opportunity to combine the visit of the three islands with a boat trip in the lagoon for only four hours. If you are interested in having a more complete private boat tour in Venice, Italy venetoinside.com offers several other detailed proposals, which you can find in our boat tour section.


Schedule details
TOP

Availability: All year

Departure point: yellow desk located on the Riva degli Schiavoni, at the feet of the Ponte della Paglia at the corner with Calle degli Albanesi.

Departure time Languages available

From 14 March to 8 November

9.15 am

2.15 pm

 

From 9 November to 13 March

1.45 pm

 

English: daily
Spanish: daily
French: daily
German: daily
Italian: daily

Prices Duration

Full: €20.00

Concessions:
children 2-6 years: €10.00
children 0-2 years: free

approx. 240 min
Inclusions Exclusions
  • Guided tour
  • Boat transport to and from the islands
  • What is not specified under "Inclusions"
Additional information
No credit or refunds will be given in the case of a NO SHOW (if you don't show up at the meeting point at the time indicated on your voucher). The tour is not suitable for wheelchair users. There is a short walk from the meeting point to the point of embarkation. The stop in Murano (approx. 40 min.) allows you an optional visit to a glass factory with a short demonstration of the art of blown glass, and also some free time. During the stop in Burano (approx. 35 min.) you can visit a store of laces , or you can enjoy of some free time. The stop in Torcello (approx. 45 min.) is completely at your disposal. If the optional visits in the program are not undertaken, you are strongly required to comply with the timetable set out by the staff: the excursion will head back at the scheduled time, without waiting. This is a collective tour, which means there might be other participants going on the tour with you. Multilingual tour. PLEASE NOTE: the tour will not be available on 24 May (only the morning tour, due to the Vogalonga); on 6 September the drop off point for the afternoon tour will be at Fondamenta Nuove (due to the Historical Regatta); on the third Sunday of September the tour will not include the stop in Torcello (due to Burano Regatta).
Departure point map
TOP

Reviews
TOP
43 reviews for Half day excursion to Murano, Burano and Torcello
Reviews in Italian (24) Reviews in other languages (19)
010
average score  
8
write a review
Guidelines for review publication
"Good" 7
raj
June 2015 - Young couple - India

The arrangement insider the boat was good. They took us to all the spots. There was a semi guide on board who informed us about places. overall we had a nice time.

"bit of a rush" 6
Mr X
June 2015 - Family with children - Portugal

The excursion does cover the 3 islands and takes about 4 hours. It's fine as a quick overview, but there really isn't a lot of time at each stop. Unless you're pressed for time, you may consider doing the equivalent by public transport at a more leisurely pace - probably won't be much more expensive.

Reply by venetoinside.com Staff:

Dear Mr X,

thank you for your feedback and suggestions to our clients! Those interested in visiting Murano, Burano and Torcello with public transport will be pleased to know that venetoinside.com also offers a variety of travel cards to get around Venice using the vaporetto! Before booking, please note that these tickets only include transportation and not the guided visit, as this excursion does.

Best regards,

the venetoinside.com staff

"Murano, Burano and Torcello" 10
Chrissie
May 2015 - Solo traveler - United States

This was a great way to spend our last day in Venice. The islands were all interesting. The tour was well prepared.

"Must see boat trip of Lagoon islands" 9
n/a
October 2014 - Mature couple - United Kingdom

Excellent trip to see the islands of Murano, Burano and Torcello. We were glad that there was no pressure to buy at the Murano glass factory, very interesting. Burano was beautiful, and would have liked a little longer than the 35 mins that we were there.We will definetley book again when we next visit. A must.

"Not so much an excursion but a sales opportunity" 6
Ricko
October 2014 - Mature couple - United Kingdom

The Murano, Burano, Torcello excursion is a conundrum. Let me explain. The trip to Muruno was all too brief and consisted of a 10 minutes demonstration of glass blowing and a 20 minutes "tour" of the glass studio's showroom where it's quite clear that the intention is to get you to buy stuff. After that, it's right back to the boat, and this is a terrible shame because you don't get to see anything of Murano (which I visited many years ago and found to be very nice!). Torcello was quite interesting and the 45 minutes we spent on the island was our own, and we explored a little. Finally, at Burano, we ducked out of the visit to the lace maker as we suspected that was just another sales event. Burano is very pretty and definitely worth the visit. Really, I would not recommend this excursion. I would advise you to get a water taxi or vaporetto and visit Murano and Burano yourself, so you can take as much or as little time as you like. I didn't find Torcello sufficiently interesting to recommend.

Reply by venetoinside.com Staff:

Dear Ricko,

we are sorry you were not satisfied with this service. Please consider that visiting 3 islands in 4 hours necessarily implies spending little time in each of them. Moreover the duration of each stop is clearly indicated on the schedule details of the tour… As for the stop in Murano, if you choose to do the visit – which is optional - there is not much time left to visit the island considering that the stop in this island is only 40 minutes! The tour programme of this excursion was developed for those wishing to have an overview of Venetian Islands without stealing too much time to the visit of Venice itself... If you are interested in a more complete visit of these islands, on venetoinside.com you will find many other boat tours but at a higher price...

Best regards,

the venetoinside.com staff

"Não vale à pena" 6
franbeltrao
October 2014 - Young couple - Brazil

Na verdade, não é um passeio às três visitas. Apenas uma "passada". Em Murano, não se pode conhecer a ilha. A empresa nos leva diretamente a uma fábrica dos famosos vidros de Murano e de lá imediatamente de volta ao barco. Não se conhece Murano. Se conhece apenas a fábrica, cujos vidros são vendidos a preços bem mais altos do que em Veneza. Burano é bonita e lá nos deixam dar uma volta na ilha. Em Torcello também. Mas visitas rápida de 30-40min em cada ilha. Na verdade o "passeio" é apenas um transfer pq o "guia" não sai do barco, não nos explica o que é o que andando na ilha. Nos deixa na ilha e na hora marcada nos "recolhe". A única coisa bonita são as casas coloridas de Burano.

Reply by venetoinside.com Staff:

Dear franbeltrao,

we are sorry you did not find this tour suitable for you and did not appreciated the visits. The tour programme is developed for those wishing to have an overview of Venetian Islands without stealing too much time to the visit of Venice itself... We are going to report your feedback to the boat company in charge with this service. If you are interested in a more complete visit of Venice islands, please note that venetoinside.com offers many other boat tours, but at a higher price!

Best regards,

the venetoinside.com staff

"Very interesting especially when you stay in Venice for a short time" 9
sophie
October 2014 - Family with children - France

Very interesting especially when you stay in Venice for a short time

"Murano Burano and Torcello Tour" 10
Sherrie
October 2014 - Group of friends - United States

The islands were great to vist. I enjoy the tour and staff.

"Half Day Excursion to Murano, Burano and Torcello" 9
Tricia
September 2014 - Mature couple - United Kingdom

20 euros well spent for this excellent trip. A glassblowing demo in Murano followed by a visit to the showroom with no hard sell. Burano was fascinating with its multi-coloured houses and Torcello was so peaceful with a very old church. My only regret was that we didn't have enough time there as it was quite a walk to get to the church. I would recommend this trip to everyone.

"Lovely trip out of the bustling city" 8.5
Michelle
September 2014 - Mature couple - United Kingdom

We really enjoyed the boat trip however we would have liked longer on Murano and Burano and unless you are really into churches there is not much on Torcello.

"Boring" 2
Annieke
September 2014 - Young couple - United Kingdom

First Murano,some old scuffy factory then a salesroom full of pieces no one could afford,Burano not impressed,and the last stop waste of time From the start the girl who took us was unfriendly and looked tottally bored ,we had to go over numerous bridges from the sale stand (awful salesman very ignorant) to the boat at such a speed it was horrendous then you could not hear a thing she said on the boat as the sound system was terrible. Would I recommend this tour NO

Reply by venetoinside.com Staff:

Dear Annieke,

we are sorry you did not find this tour suitable for you and did not appreciated the visits. The tour programme is developed for those wishing to have an overview of Venetian Islands without stealing too much time to the visit of Venice itself... We are going to report your feedback, together with the audio problems you have mentioned, to the boat company in charge with this service. 

If you are interested in a more complete visit of Venice islands, please note that venetoinside.com offers many other boat tours, but the price is more expensive than this excursion!

Best regards,

the venetoinside.com staff

"Murano, Burano, Torcello" 2
xx
September 2014 - Other - Germany

1. We didn't see anything from Murano except an old glass-factory and its shop. It was only a selling-stop for 40 minutes! 2. The explinations in German were very bad and rare - we booked this tour because of its german explinations. 3.I wouldn't never recommend to anybody this tour. It would have been better, to visit these islands by public transportation. I'm really angry about this waste of time!

Reply by venetoinside.com Staff:

Dear xx,

we are sorry you were not satisfied with this service. Please find below our replies to the points you made:

1.The stop in Murano is only 40 minutes and therefore, if you choose to do the visit – which is optional - there is not much time left to visit the island.

2.The guide tried to do her best to provide participants with essential information about the tour highlights using the time at her disposal... We are sorry this was not good enough for you!

3.Visiting 3 islands in 4 hours necessarily implies spending little time in each of them! The tour programme was developed for those wishing to have an overview of Venetian Islands without stealing too much time to the visit of Venice itself... If you are interested in a more complete visit of Venice islands, please note that venetoinside.com offers many other boat tours, but the price is more expensive than this excursion!

Anyway, we are going to report your feedback to the company in charge with this service. Your comments are always important to us to better understand our customer needs and improve our services.

Best regards,

the venetoinside.com staff

"Very bad organization." 4
Carmencita
September 2014 - Group of friends - Chile

Very bad organization. They left Murano, even four passenger were still in the glass factory.

Reply by venetoinside.com Staff:

Dear Carmencita,

we have not received any complaints from these people, so we cannot retrace what really happened on that day… However, please note that this excursion has to respect the scheduled time and cannot wait for the latecoming! Maybe those passengers did not respect the stop times indicated by our supplier and waiting for them would have caused delays to other people who were doing the excursion...

Best regards,

the venetoinside.com staff

"Murano-Burano-Torcello" 6.5
--
August 2014 - Other - Germany

was too fast the visit. we had like 30 bis 45 minutes in each place. That was not enough

Reply by venetoinside.com Staff:

Dear --,

we are sorry you were not completely satisfied with the tour, but visiting 3 islands in 4 hours necessarily implies spending little time in each of them! The tour programme was developed for those wishing to have an overview of Venetian Islands without stealing too much time to the visit of Venice itself and we are sorry you did not find it suitable for you.

Best regards,

the venetoinside.com staff

"Half day excursion to Murano, Burano and Torcello" 7
none
July 2014 - Mature couple - Canada

I would recommend visiting these three islands. They each offer a unique local character and are eager to welcome visitors. My personal favourite was Burano with its colourful buildings and picturesque setting. Unfortunately, it poured for the majority of our excursion. The weather cannot be controlled but once you purchase the voucher you are locked into the excursion date so you need to go whether it rains or not. It would have been nice to change the date or time in favour of better weather conditions so we could enjoy the tour more since there is a lot of outside walking involved.

Reply by venetoinside.com Staff:

Dear none,

we are sorry you couldn’t enjoy the excursion because of the bad weather. In such cases, it is the company in charge with this service which decides if the tour could take place or not according to weather and lagoon water conditions. If they are not too serious, the company usually runs the tour, otherwise they cancel the tour and either refund it or allow participants to change the date.

Best regards,

the venetoinside.com staff

"No worth the money" 2
Lori
June 2014 - Mature couple - United States

This tour was not at all worth the money, although we enjoyed seeing all three Islands we may as well have gone on our own. We arrived 15 minutes early only to find that the tour was leaving 1/2 and hour later than scheduled. After waiting a half an hour we are told the boat was not at the dock and we were paraded over 3 or four bridges to another boat. There as a woman in a wheel chair that was told to "meet us at the boat " but her family had to carry her wheel chair and they never made it to the boat. regardless, we booked an english speaking tour and what we got was a tour guide that was beyond apathetic who spoke in 3 languages, rushing to get it all in before her next que. We got very little information, it was very rehearsed and difficult to hear. Murano was a joke, dropped off at dock outside a glass blowing room, saw one demo and then were walked into the "show room" ( store) to browse and purchase for 20 minutes and then back on the boat. Burano was very pretty but there was not enough time to really do anything but buy a cheap souvenir...although we did buy some delicious cookies. An afternoon in Burano would have been nicer so we could have enjoyed lunch. The last stop was Torcello which deserved a half day as well. The island was small but we had a half an hour to walk to the church and back which left no time to see the artifacts and museum which looked amazing. The tour guide stayed on the boat so we learned nothing of the church and out building except what she briefly told us in 3 languages. It was a shame because it was an amazing sight and I am sure had some very interesting history behind it. ( learned from reading tour books...not from our apathetic guide). I would not recommend this tour to anyone unless you want a quick look at the lagoon islands and do not have much interest in what is there. The tour guide was the worst we had in the 7 days we spend it Italy. And that poor woman in the wheelchair might still be looking for the boat dock in Venice.... just awful.

Reply by venetoinside.com Staff:

Dear Lori,

we are sorry you did not enjoy the tour...After getting your review, we contacted the company in charge with this service in order to understand what irregularities there might have been during the tour but it turned out that there were none and we can explain each of the points you made.

As for the departure time, the voucher says to show up at the meeting point 30 minutes before the departure just to avoid delays in the participants boarding, so in fact there wasn't any real delay in the tour schedule.
As for the embarkation location, it has always been at a pier located not exactly at the meeting desk but very close to it. We are sorry for the lady in the wheelchair but unfortunately Venice is a complicated city in terms of architectural barriers due to its own urban structure and the presence of many bridges, which usually makes it very difficult for disabled people or even mothers with babies in their strollers to move around.
As far as the tour schedule is concerned, we are sorry you felt it too rushed but visiting 3 islands in 4 hours necessarily implies spending little time in each of them! The tour programme was developed for those wishing to have an overview of Venetian Islands without stealing too much time to the visit of Venice itself and we are sorry you did not find it suitable for you.
Regarding the guide, she tried to do her best to provide participants with essential information about the tour highlights using the time at her disposal and we are sorry you did not appreciate her approach and explanation style. In fact many other participants in the tour gave us positive feedback about her professionalism, so this might depend on a difference in initial expectations about the tour contents and goals.
However, we thank you for your review as it might help us to improve our services and communication about them!

Best regards,

the venetoinside.com staff

"our least favourite trip" 5.5
Guy
June 2014 - Mature couple - United Kingdom

Murano was interesting for the glass blowing but on the whole this excursion wasn't our favourite part of the holiday.We wouldn't tell others to make sure they do this as a priority.

"Decent for cost" 6
Pamela
June 2014 - Family with children - United States

The tour guide was impossible to understand, but we enjoyed seeing the 3 islands and wouldn't have been able to do that any cheaper. The stop in Murano is too short. There wasn't anytime to look around the island and really they didn't want you to leave the glass store with the demonstration. If you rally want to look around Murano this isn't the tour for you.

Reply by venetoinside.com Staff:

Dear Pamela,

we are sorry you were not completely satisfied with the tour. In fact our customers usually enjoy this tour despite its being quite intensive  - as it allows you to visit 3 islands of Venetian Lagoon in 4 hours only  - and appreciate its good value for money (€20 per person).  

As for the audio problems you have mentioned, we reported your opinions to the boat company in charge with this service and they are delving into the issue in order to solve it.

As for the stop in Murano island, we would like to specify that the visit to the glass factory is at your discretion, but if you choose to do it (instead of using the entire stop to visit the island) you have to take part in both the visit to the glass factory and the demonstration.

Best regards,

the venetoinside.com staff

"Rushed and hard to understand" 3
Amber
May 2014 - Young couple - United States

We took this tour and felt very rushed throughout the entire thing. We couldn't understand the tour operator because of the thick accent and the speaker system on the boat didn't work properly. The boat has terrible gas fumes that gave me a headache. THe islands were beautiful though, I just wished we would've taken a different tour. Not worth the money spent

Reply by venetoinside.com Staff:

Dear Amber,

we are sorry you were not satisfied with the tour. In fact our customers usually enjoy this tour despite its being quite intensive  - as it allows you to visit 3 islands of Venetian Lagoon in 4 hours only  - and appreciate its good value for money (€20 per person). As for the language and audio problems you have mentioned, we reported your opinions to the boat company in charge with this service and they are delving into these issues in order to solve them. We would like to thank you for your comment because it helps us to better understand our customer needs!

Best regards,

the venetoinside.com staff