Secret Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Duration: approx. 2 hours  Location: Venice
This tour was already booked by 2,282 people

8.5/10

8 Reviews

Per person
47.00
Gallery

Why choose this experience?

1 To enjoy a unique tour that shares the charm of Venice and combines two great classics: a walk and a gondola ride
2 Because you will discover some curious buildings, such as the Scala del Bovolo, and the magic that lies in some unusual areas of Venice
3 To relax, lulled by the gentle sway of the gondola, while enjoying beautiful views and famous architectural masterpieces from the water

This tour combines the two classic ingredients of Venice in a single journey to discover thetraditional atmosphere of this ancient city. A new walking tour in Venezia and a gondola ride to see the different faces of this beautiful city with many facets: after a leisurely stroll through the so-called Minor Venice' you will enjoy a poetic gondola ride immersed in the picturesque views of the Grand Canal and the minor canals.

An original way to discover Venice from two different perspectives: a Venice guided walking tour of the area between St Mark's Square and the Rialto Bridge, admiring the La Fenice Theatre, La Scala del Bovolo and the Rialto Bridge, and a ride on one of Venice gondolas from the Basilica della Salute on the Grand Canal to the picturesque smaller canals around the La Fenice Theatre.

During Venice on foot' you will admire, from the outside, some of the most special places of Venice, accompanied by an expert guide who will tell you curious anecdotes and historical facts.

The tour will begin with a visit to La Fenice in Venice, the theatre that has marked the history of opera in this amazing city. At the La Fenice Theatre, you will visit its striking exteriors, restored several times and brought back to glory after several fires that affected this extraordinary theatre.

The Venice guided walking tour will continue to Palazzo Contarini del Bovolo, to admire its elegant spiral staircase, and the Rialto area, the oldest part of Venice. The centre of the trade empire of the Republic of Venice, Rialto still preserves the most genuine customs and traditions of Venice. The heart of this area is the famous Rialto Bridge, with its unique staircase flanked by many shops.

After this charming romantic stroll in Venice, the second part of our tour will begin, ‘Venice on a gondola'. Starting at a famous station for gondolas in Venice, opposite the famous Harry's Bar, the tour will allow you to admire from the water the famous Basilica della Salute, one of the best examples of Baroque architecture in Venice amidst the picturesque scenery between St Mark's Basin and the Grand Canal.

Lulled by the gentle sway of the typical gondola navigation, you will move deeper into the minor canals: along small canals and areas accessible only by water, you will arrive at the La Fenice Theatre. Having walked around it only a short time before, you will now see this famous theatre from the water.

Aboard a typical gondola in Venice, you will coast past lesser known areas to capture new scenes, quaint corners and majestic architectural masterpieces from a new point of view.

An extraordinary guided walk in Venice and a Venice gondola reservation to discover the true atmosphere of this unique city. Two perspectives and two different itineraries merged into a single tour to give you an unforgettable experience.

© Insidecom Tour Operator
(authorization no. 62027 dated 09/07/12 with determination no. 2052/2012)

Important info

Availability:

all year, except for 25 December and 1 January.

Departure point:

Campo San Moisè, in front of Bauer Hotel.

Only for 3.30 pm tour operating from 1 April to 31 October 2016: ‘Yex' Change Office - Under the Clock Tower in St. Mark's Square.

Departure time

From 1 April to 31 October 2016
3.00 pm (gondola ride+walking tour)
3.30 pm (walking tour+gondola ride)

From 1 November 2016 to 31 March 2017
3.00 pm (gondola ride+walking tour)

From 1 April to 31 October 2017
3.00 pm (gondola ride+walking tour)
3.45 pm (walking tour+gondola ride)

Languages available

Only for the walking tour. The gondola tour does not provide explanations.

From 1 April to 31 October
English: daily
BILINGUAL TOUR
Spanish: Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Saturday, Sunday
French: daily
German: Monday, Friday

From 1 November to 31 March
BILINGUAL TOUR
English: daily
Spanish: Wednesday, Saturday, Sunday
French: Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday
German: Monday, Friday

Prices

From 1 April 2016 to 31 March 2017
Full: €47.00
Concessions
Children from 2 to 5 years: €31.00
Children up to 1 year: free

From 1 April to 31 October 2017
Full: €49.00
Concessions
Children from 2 to 5 years: €32.00
Children up to 1 year: free

Duration

approx. 2 hours

Inclusions
  • Guided walk
  • Gondola ride
Exclusions
  • What is not specified under "Inclusions"
  • Entry tickets
  • Explanations during the gondola ride
Additional information:

Before booking, please be advised that it is compulsory to print a paper copy of the voucher issued at the end of the online reservation and bring it with you the day of the tour.

No credit or refunds will be given in the case of a NO SHOW (if you don't show up at the meeting point at the time indicated on your voucher).

Please arrive at the meeting point at least 10 minutes before the tour departure time. At the tour departure point you will meet a representative who will check your vouchers and give you information to do the tour.

During the winter period (from November 1st to March 31st) the tour is BILINGUAL, because explanations will be provided in two languages if the audience provenience is mixed.

During the summer period (from April 1st to October 31st) in English the tour is always monolingual. In Spanish, French and German the tour could be BILINGUAL, because explanations will be provided in two languages if the audience provenience is mixed.

This is a collective tour, which means there might be other participants going on the tour with you.

This is a combo tour including 2 single tours: no explanations during the gondola ride; guided tour only during the walk.

The gondola ride might be suspended in case of BAD WEATHER. In such cases you are required to go to the tour departure point in order to know whether the tour takes place or not and any alternative ways to use the service.

Please note that, due to the particular morphological structure of Venice and the logistic problems resulting from it, we cannot guarantee that the whole tour is accessible to people with limited mobility. This means that people with walking difficulties and wheelchair users could not be able to access some parts of the itinerary.

In exceptional cases and/or reasons of force majeure that may prevent the tour already purchased to run regularly (i.e. acts of nature, strikes, exceptional closures, serious unexpected events or health problems experienced by the person in charge with the service after which it is really impossible to find a substitute), the tour might be cancelled.The customer will be notified of this as soon as possible and will be asked to choose between postponing the tour on the first date available or get a prompt refund of the price paid for the tour.

Departure point map

8 reviews for Secret Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Reviews in italian (0) Reviews in other languages (8)
8.5/10

Write a review

7/10

E

April 2016

Group of friends

UNITED KINGDOM

Reviewed on 02 May `16 - Booking No. 1619047

'Secret Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride'

Tour
Secret Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

It was a good tour, however, the group was too big. The second guide didn't show up and I think we were about 50 people following one guide. But other than that, it was interesting. You get about 30 min gondola ride, which was good and, in my opinion, you don't need more.


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear E,

thank you for appreciating the service despite the large number of participants in the tour. We apologize for the inconvenience with the guide who had suffered an unexpected health problem that prevented her from carrying out the tour regularly.

Best regards,
The Insidecom staff
Was this review helpful?
8/10

Val

October 2015

Mature couple

UNITED STATES

Reviewed on 16 Oct `15 - Booking No. 1578033

'Exactly what the tour title describes'

Tour
Secret Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

We enjoyed the tour and gondola ride very much and think it was good value for the money.

Was this review helpful?
7/10

Sil

July 2015

Young couple

UNITED STATES

Reviewed on 04 Aug `15 - Booking No. 1533516

'Not worth it'

Tour
Secret Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

I didn't enjoy this tour. We were like 50 people on this tour and the city is very crowded as it is, so ,it was very hard to follow the tour guide around, and we couldn't listen very well what she was saying because she was so far away because of the amount of people. The gondola ride was ok, but we had to wait in line for quite sometime and it was rather short.


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear Sil,

we are sorry you were not satisfied with this service and we have already reported your comment to the company in charge with this service. We hope they will consider our client’s reviews in order to improve their service and to avoid other similar cases from happening again!

Best regards,
The Insidecom staff
Was this review helpful?
10/10

Laura's mom

May 2015

Mature couple

UNITED STATES

Reviewed on 31 May `15 - Booking No. 1526435

'Great title - very good description'

Tour
Secret Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

This tour was a 10!!!! Our guide, Marco, was fabulous very knowledgeable and friendly with perfect English and a great sense of humor. We have been to Venice before but this tour took us places we hadn't known about and were fascinating.

Was this review helpful?
1
3/10

Sherrie

October 2014

Group of friends

UNITED STATES

Reviewed on 01 Nov `14 - Booking No. 1464070

'Finding the location.'

Tour
Secret Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Well this time at first was very disappointing because of your rude staff. We did not know I'f we were at the correct location because other had do If fervent stickers. One of your male staff members who was seated down told D us just to give the paper to the lady and when we did not he states that he hate helping people who just don't listen. I was so offend by his comment. If he wanted to help us why didn't he get up off of his but and take us to the lady that was collecting the papers and giving out the stickers. He made his comment in front of other customers. The he made another when we return to give him the radio and did not say thank you he traged us like little children and I told the young lady that he was rude and I asked her for his name. I will not recommend this tour to others. Not to be spoken to in a rude manner


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear Sherrie,

we are sorry you did not enjoy the tour due to the bad behavior of the staff. We have already reported your comment to the company in charge with this service in order to avoid other unpleasant situations from happening in the future.

Best regards,
The Insidecom staff
Was this review helpful?
3.5/10

Dolce vita

August 2014

Family with children

UNITED KINGDOM

Reviewed on 23 Aug `14 - Booking No. 1459529

'walking tour and gondola ride'

Tour
Secret Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Mass tourism ...in a huge group with headphones to walk round venice.Im sure what she was saying was interesting but we couldn't hear properly.The gondola was ok but too many people queuing for gondola s at the sametime from different tour groups.alot of money for a family


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear Dolce vita,

we are sorry you were not satisfied with the tour. You happened to do it during peak days in Venice and therefore the group was quite large. Anyway, the tour you booked is a collective tour and this is clearly indicated both on the voucher and on the schedule details of the tour. We are sorry you had different expectations about it. As for your criticism about the listening devices, we have reported the problem to the company in charge with this service.

Best regards,
The Insidecom staff
Was this review helpful?
10/10

Guy

June 2014

Mature couple

UNITED KINGDOM

Reviewed on 29 Jun `14 - Booking No. 1438007

'well worth it'

Tour
Secret Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

This was really good loved the gondola ride and the walking tour with the guide was so entertaining and informative would definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful?
4/10

Squirrel

March 2014

Young couple

UNITED KINGDOM

Reviewed on 22 Mar `14 - Booking No. 142289

'Not very organised!'

Tour
Secret Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

The tour was very full which didnt bother us, but the earphones that were provided were poor quality and difficult to hear. Our German guide did'nt bring Venice to life for us, she was more interested in waving to her friends and rambling on about random subjects. If you're expecting a educated and informing tour dont go on this one! Best part was the gondola ride, although quite crowded (but expected for the price).Shame as the Basilica tour from this company was amazing, with a brilliant young guide who was able to answer most of our questions and seemed genuinely interested!


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear Squirrel,

we are sorry you were not satisfied with this tour but pleased you appreciated our St Mark’s Basilica and its Treasures tour. We are going to report your feedback, together with the audio problems you have mentioned, to the company in charge with this service.

Best regards,
The Insidecom staff
Was this review helpful?

Check dates

Select language
Choose a date
Input data



Total price
0.00