Gondola Ride

Duration: approx. 30 minutes   Location: Venice

8.5/10

32 Reviews

Per person
31.00
Gallery

Why choose this experience?

1 To discover the small and picturesque narrow channels that can only be reached by gondola
2 Because you will admire Venice from the water to capture the charm and magic of this city
3 To enjoy an amazing gondola ride at an extremely favourable cost

Are you wondering 'What is a gondola ride'? This gondola ride in Venice will take you to discover some new and not very well-known areas of one of the most beautiful cities in the world, Venice, during the bright and sunny months!

A charming gondola ride in Venice, Italy in the summer, to admire the majestic architectural masterpieces overlooking the water, a succession of bridges and views from a typical gondola ride in Venice, at a very affordable cost. From the Basilica della Salute on the Grand Canal to the intimate and evocative atmosphere of the smaller canals around the La Fenice Theatre in Venice: a gondola ride at competitive prices and booked directly online.

During the gondola ride in Venice, Italy you can admire the famous Basilica della Salute from the outside, a majestic building that stands in the suggestive landscape of St Mark's Basin and the Grand Canal. Built and designed by Baldassare Longhena, a renowned architect and sculptor of the Venetian Republic, the basilica offers different perspective views according to the point from which it is observed. Considered one of the finest examples of Baroque architecture in Venice, the basilica is a votive offering to the Virgin Mary by the inhabitants of Venice to eradicate the plague of the seventeenth century.

Leaving the Grand Canal you will be able to delve deeper in the picturesque smaller canals of Venice, where you can admire a not very well known Venice whilst being gently lulled by the calm sway along the typical the canals of Venice.

Gondola rides in Venice, Italy will take you to the most famous theatre in Venice, La Fenice, to admire its stunning exteriors from the water. Located in the district of San Marco, La Fenice is the main opera house in Venice, and sadly notorious for being repeatedly destroyed by fire and rebuilt. Its construction dates back to 1790, designed by Giannantonio Selva. During the nineteenth century this famous theatre in Venice hosted the opening concert of many great Italian composers such as Rossini, Bellini, Verdi and Donizetti.

A gondola ride in Venice at a very competitive price! Treat yourself to the surreal atmosphere of Venice from the water, you will experience unique and unforgettable moments. The cost of the tour in a gondola is already established: you only need to go to the meeting point and board this charming gondola ride.

© Insidecom Tour Operator
(authorization no. 62027 dated 09/07/12 granted by the Province of Venice with determination no. 2052/2012)

Important info

Availability:

all year.

Departure point:

Campo San Moisè, in front of Bauer Hotel.

Departure time

Daily

11.30 am
3.00 pm
5.15 pm

Languages available

No explanations during the tour

Prices

Full: €31.00

Concessions
Children up to 1 year: free

Duration

approx. 30 minutes

Inclusions
  • Gondola ride
Exclusions
  • What is not specified under "Inclusions"
  • Guided visit
Additional information:

Before booking, please be advised that it is compulsory to print a paper copy of the voucher issued at the end of the online reservation and bring it with you the day of the tour.

No credit or refunds will be given in the case of a NO SHOW (if you don't show up at the meeting point at the time indicated on your voucher).

Please arrive at the meeting point at least 10 minutes before the tour departure time. At the tour departure point you will meet a representative who will check your vouchers and give you information to do the tour.

This is a collective tour, which means there might be other participants going on the tour with you.

The tour might be suspended in case of bad weather. In such cases you are required to go to the departure point in order to know whether the tour takes place or not and any alternative ways to use the service.

Departure point map

32 reviews for Gondola Ride

Reviews in italian (17) Reviews in other languages (15)
8.5/10
9/10

Wendoline

April 2016

Young couple

UNITED STATES

Reviewed on 18 May `16 - Booking No. 1617941

'Would have been perfect except for the seating and the selfie sticks.'

Tour
Gondola Ride

There is just something so special and magical about a Gondola ride. The only reason I would detract a point is due to the seating arrangements, which are very strange. There's two in front of the Gondolier, two on side, three on the other side and then one opposite the Gondolier. This ended up with my partner and I split up between the row with three and the seat opposite the Gondolier. This isn't really a big deal if you're just a group of friends, but splitting up a couple that way, on something that's supposed to be a romantic activity kind of took away from the experience for us. There should be more care taken in seating people to make sure couples get to stick together. Also, it'd be nice if selfie sticks could get banned. The couple sitting next to me whacked me on the head at least twice and hit me on the arms and blocked my view several others. That also made it less than perfect. Otherwise, it was very nice, if incredibly quiet since our Gondolier didn't even try to talk.

Strenghts

Beautiful views of the canals and the city.

Weaknesses

Seating arrangements could result in couples getting split up and not being able to chat with each other. Group activity with strangers.


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear Wendoline,

we are pleased you appreciated the gondola ride despite the inconveniences you mentioned in your review. First of all, please consider that you booked a collective tour as we specify both on the the voucher and on the important info online... Therefore it is not always possibile to sit wherever you prefer but only in the places that are still free. As for the selfie stick… We think the problem was related to the people that were using it and not to the object itself! Unfortunately we cannot do anything to prevent the rude behaviour of some people and certainly we cannot forbid people to take photo during the ride. Concerning the gondolier, please note that the tour does not include explanations so any information the gondolier decides to give is only at his personal discretion.

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
0/10

Tony

March 2016

Mature couple

UNITED KINGDOM

Reviewed on 09 Apr `16 - Booking No. 1610154

'Gondola Ride'

Tour
Gondola Ride

The Gondola ride start point had steps down to the Gondola. The finish was at a point with a very high wall (1 metre ) and no steps. Another man waited with a bucket for tips. The man insisted we climbed out. He took my wife's hand and when I also took her hand to pull her up he let go and she fell on her arthritic knees causing bruising. Had we known there were no steps at the finish we would not have booked this ride! You need to be fit and athletic to climb out at this point if you book this particular ride.


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear Tony,

we are sorry about what happened. After getting your review we contacted our staff on the spot to check what happened and find out that, during particular days of low tide, the disembarkation of the passengers might be a little more difficult than usual. Anyway they assured us that they always take care of the people during the disembarkation procedures… Next time we suggest you to notify our staff about your wife’s health problems before disembarking so that they will be able to help her in the best possible way!

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
10/10

GE193

October 2015

Group of friends

UNITED KINGDOM

Reviewed on 24 Oct `15 - Booking No. 15100856

'Excellent'

Tour
Gondola Ride

Worth the money. You will share the gondala - 6 total. Meeting instructions are slightly confusing and it is literally a meeting point. No office / so until you're due time of meeting there is no one there. Trip lasts 30 mins and was lovely.


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear GE193,

we are pleased you appreciated the tour despite you had difficulties in locating the meeting point. Please note that the voucher you got after the reservation contains clear indications about the location of the meeting point, together with detailed instructions to help our clients recognize the staff on duty there. As for your comment about the meeting point itself, please consider that it is only the place designated as departure point of the tour: our staff is present at the meeting point only for approx 20 minutes (10 before the departure of the tour and 10 after the tour departure to wait for late comers) to welcome clients and give instructions about the tour.

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
8/10

MelB

September 2015

Mature couple

UNITED KINGDOM

Reviewed on 02 Oct `15 - Booking No. 1590938

'Venice Gondola'

Tour
Gondola Ride

An enjoyable experience, a bit hectic, a bit crowded but this is Venice!

Was this review helpful?
8.5/10

mmmazzurana

July 2015

Mature couple

BRAZIL

Reviewed on 26 Jul `15 - Booking No. 1559486

'viagem de gondola'

Tour
Gondola Ride

o o passeio de gôndola foi muito interessante, porém foi um pouco difícil encontrar o local da saída do passeio, uma vez que não há nenhuma indicação, fica apenas uma pessoa identificada, mas por curto período, tento que perdemos o passeio, sendo que a empresa nos recolocou no horário seguinte, não gerando prejuízo total. Contudo, a respeito do site booking, foi perfeito, tudo certo e continuarei utilizando os serviços, pois me sinto segura na realização dos contratos de serviço. Obrigada


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear mmmazzurana,

thank you for appreciating our booking system! As for the tour, we are sorry you missed the one you actually booked but pleased that our staff let you do the following tour. Unfortunately Venice can be very crowed on high-season months and this may cause some difficulties in locating the meeting point of the tours. For this reason we provide our clients with detailed instructions on the voucher, where the tour meeting point is indicated both on a map and with a textual description. We regret this was not enough for you!

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
10/10

Mia

July 2015

Young couple

SWEDEN

Reviewed on 18 Jul `15 - Booking No. 1519372

'Marvellouse!'

Tour
Gondola Ride

It was a wery nice trip. We are Satisfied. A bit tricky to find out the meetingpoint thou, but because we were in time it solved


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear Mia,

we are pleased you enjoyed the tour despite you had a little difficult in locating the meeting point! This is the reason why, on the voucher, we suggest our clients to arrive at the meeting point at least 10 minutes in advance not to miss the tour!

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
8/10

Smoore

June 2015

Mature couple

CANADA

Reviewed on 10 Jul `15 - Booking No. 1533581

'Venice Gondola Ride'

Tour
Gondola Ride

This 30 minute Gondola ride gives you a different perspective of the waterways of Venice. Aside the main waterways it shows many smaller and less busy routes.

Was this review helpful?
0/10

AMM

June 2015

Solo traveler

BRAZIL

Reviewed on 23 Jun `15 - Booking No. 1534825

'Very disappointing'

Tour
Gondola Ride

Meeting point not clearly informed. I tried to call but no one answered the phone. I missed the ride although I was at the right place to take the gondola. No refund provided.


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear AMM,

we are sorry you had difficulties in locating the meeting point and therefore could not do the tour. Please note that the voucher issued after your reservation clearly indicates the meeting point, both with a textual description and on a map, and it contains two emergency numbers,  available 7 days a week, to offer assistance on the spot. We regret this information was not enough for you and you did not call the emergency number provided! Regarding your request for a refund, please consider that our reimbursement policy does not include this case among those we usually offer a refund for since we cannot be held responsible for what happened.

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
9.5/10

jamesy

May 2015

Mature couple

UNITED KINGDOM

Reviewed on 26 May `15 - Booking No. 1531254

'Spot on'

Tour
Gondola Ride

The young lady guide who ran this played a blinder. Told the three that left the meeting point "to find some food" to be back to leave on time. We left at the appropriate time one minute after they should have been there. So instead of five in the gondola it was just us two. We got 45 minutes for €31 each. Beats paying €85 for half an hour. Why would you not do this ?????? Thanks for the ride


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear jamesy,

thank you for your review! You were very lucky since other participants in the tour did not show up on time… It is very difficult to have an entire gondola at your disposal for this type of tour!

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
5/10

Anna

June 2014

Family with children

UNITED STATES

Reviewed on 14 Jul `14 - Booking No. 1443242

'Very commercialized, stuff is not accomodating'

Tour
Gondola Ride

No attempts have been made to accommodate my request to face the direction we were moving in - I am particular this way as I have a motion sickness. The staff was pretty rude and ignorant. The whole experience seemed pretty rushed - like we participated in some sort of a race as opposed to a sightseeing ride.


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear Anna,

we are deeply sorry about what happened but we are not directly in charge with gondoliers and unfortunately cannot do anything to prevent or change the behaviour of some of them... Anyway, we reported your opinions to the company in charge with this service and they are delving into the issue in order to prevent other similar cases.

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
14
Show more reviews

Check dates

Select language
Choose a date
Input data


Total price
0.00