Gondola Serenade

Duration: approx. 40 minutes  Location: Venice
This tour was already booked by 1,495 people

6/10

11 Reviews

Per person
41.00
Gallery

Why choose this experience?

1 Because you will come into contact with one of the oldest traditions of Venice, a gondola serenade
2 To be enchanted by the perfect combination of a gondola ride and soft melodies in the background
3 To be lulled by the gentle sways of the gondola and understand why Venice is considered one of the most romantic cities in the world

With this romantic gondola serenade tour you will have the opportunity to live a unique experience in contact with an ancient Venice tradition: a plunge into the past of this charming city to live the magical experience of a gondola ride in Venice accompanied by an authentic Venetian gondolier.

A fascinating and romantic gondola ride accompanied by traditional melodies in the background... with Gondola Serenade you can spend unforgettable moments and fully understand why Venice is considered one of the most romantic cities in the world.

Venice is best admired from the water, and preferably with a scenic Venice gondola ride and serenade.

Ideal for easy navigation along the canals and the lagoon of Venice, the gondola best sums up the true spirit of this romantic city. Its very structure seems designed to fit Venice, from the particular asymmetrical shape to the convenient maneuverability that allows for easy navigation along the narrow canals of Venice. In addition to this, the iron comb bow of the gondola, which is aimed at balancing the boat, is a true symbolic representation of Venice: the shape is reminiscent of the Doge's hat, the bow between the highest tooth and the tip of the comb represents the Rialto Bridge and the ‘S' that joins the arch of the Rialto Bridge to the bottom of the hull symbolizes the Grand Canal, not forgetting the bars representing the districts of Venice!

Those steering the gondola belong to a real elite of Venice, the gondolier's guild, in which customs and traditions of this profession have been handed down for centuries.

Water is integral part of the landscape and history of Venice, as well as its distinctive feature for excellence worldwide. With this tour you can get in touch with the enchanting atmosphere of this romantic city: a more traditional and deeper way to fully live the magic of a night in Venice.

The Gondola Serenade tour will begin at the gondola station of Santa Maria del Giglio (near the Hotel Gritti), where you will board the gondola and join other boats to sail together around a boat where musicians and singers will be playing. This ancient custom of Venice was at its maximum in the eighteenth century, with the so-called freschi boat rides from which a real musical genre has derived the so called da batelo singing.

Aboard a typical gondola in Venice, an unprecedented and fascinating tour to experience all the charms of this romantic city. You will enjoy a magical night in Venice thanks to a tour that will give you intense emotions and memories.

© Insidecom Tour Operator
(authorization no. 62027 dated 09/07/12 with determination no. 2052/2012)

Important info

Availability:

all year, except for 21 November, 25 December, 1 January.

Departure point:

Gondola Pier, S. Maria del Giglio.

Departure time

Daily

From 1 April 1 to 31 October 2016
6.30 pm
7.30 pm

From 1 November 2016 to 31 March 2017
3.30 pm

Languages available

No explanations during the tour

Prices

Full: €41.00

Concessions
Children up to 2 years: free (with no seat reservation)

Duration

approx. 40 minutes

Inclusions
  • Gondola ride
Exclusions
  • What is not specified under "Inclusions"
  • Guided visit
Additional information:

Before booking, please be advised that it is compulsory to print a paper copy of the voucher issued at the end of the online reservation and bring it with you the day of the tour.

No credit or refunds will be given in the case of a NO SHOW (if you don't show up at the meeting point at the time indicated on your voucher).

Please arrive at the meeting point at least 10 minutes before the tour departure time.

This is a collective tour, which means there might be other participants going on the tour with you.

The tour might be suspended in case of bad weather. In such cases you are required to go to the departure point in order to know whether the tour takes place or not and any alternative ways to use the service.

In exceptional cases and/or reasons of force majeure that may prevent the tour already purchased to run regularly (i.e. acts of nature, strikes, exceptional closures, serious unexpected events or health problems experienced by the person in charge with the service after which it is really impossible to find a substitute), the tour might be cancelled.The customer will be notified of this as soon as possible and will be asked to choose between postponing the tour on the first date available or get a prompt refund of the price paid for the tour.

Departure point map

11 reviews for Gondola Serenade

Reviews in italian (5) Reviews in other languages (6)
6/10

Write a review

5/10

Pam

September 2015

Mature couple

UNITED STATES

Reviewed on 06 Oct `15 - Booking No. 1581017

'Silly'

Tour
Gondola Serenade

You have to do a gondola ride but it was a silly time. For the singing they put us next to two other boats. A man sang from the boat in the middle and quite Frankly, he was bad enough that we were laughing quietly and his fellow gondoliers were smirking. The instruments by themselves would have been better. There were 6 of us in the boat and only two had comfortable seats and the last two seats did not let us even sit next to each other. My advice is to book a private gondola, even at the higher cost.


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear Pam,

we are sorry you were not satisfied with this tour! As we clearly indicate online, this is a collective tour and therefore the atmosphere might not be as romantic as in a private tour… Next time we suggest you our private gondola ride! It does not include the serenade but you will have an entire gondola at your disposal!

Best regards,
The Insidecom staff
Was this review helpful?
1/10

hy

August 2015

Family with children

ROMANIA

Reviewed on 12 Sep `15 - Booking No. 1580559

'A big NO'

Tour
Gondola Serenade

it should be musicians in every boat. Only 2 musicians (that were not talented at all) for a group of 6 boats.To not discuss about the fact that you have a time as per schedule and they did not have enough places and we had to wait. So good luck if you are adepts of Masoch. It is an unforgetable adventure.


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear hy,

we are sorry you were not satisfied with this service. Please note that the tour description clearly specifies how the tour is run ‘The Gondola Serenade tour will begin at the gondola station of Santa Maria del Giglio (near the Hotel Gritti), where you will board the gondola and join other boats to sail together around a boat where musicians and singers will be playing’. As for the waiting time at the pier, we apologize about that. Unfortunately other operators did not correcty inform our supplier of a couple of reservations, which resulted in the temporary lack of gondola availability, which was then solved in the attempt to cause as less inconvenience as possible!

Best regards,
The Insidecom staff
Was this review helpful?
0/10

Deanna

July 2015

Young couple

UNITED STATES

Reviewed on 13 Aug `15 - Booking No. 1564272

'Nice Experience'

Tour
Gondola Serenade

If you go to Venice you have to have a gondola ride. I can't imagine a trip to Venice would be complete without it. Unfortunately what you picture as the classic ride, with someone in striped shirt, hat with red ribbon, and serenade is very expensive. Rather than take one of those rides, we opted for a "shared ride" which is more of an experience with several gondoliers and several gondolas going out for a ride with a singer and accordion player in one of the gondolas. All gondolas are shared unless you have enough people (5 or so) to fill it. While the sailors are not exactly what you picture (cut off sleeves, lots of tattoos, smoking on their breaks or in the gondola), and it is a shared ride and way too short (just a brief minute or two in the Grand Canal before going into back water ways), it is a nice experience. If like us you can't afford a pricey solo option, this may be for you.


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear Deanna,

we are pleased you appreciated the tour despite it was not exactly what you expected. As you said, this tour is suitable for people who want to try this magical experience at a very affordable price! If you are looking for something more intimate and private, next time we suggest you our Private gondola ride: it does not include the serenade but you will have an entire gondola at your disposal at the cost of €100, which means €50 per person and therefore only €18 more than you paid this time!

Best regards,
The Insidecom staff
Was this review helpful?
8.5/10

us

June 2015

Mature couple

UNITED STATES

Reviewed on 15 Jul `15 - Booking No. 1544652

'fun'

Tour
Gondola Serenade

What a great way to end a lovely day in Venice. The only way that it would have been better is if it was a bit longer. The musicians were adequate and the gondoliers were decent. I just wish we had paid extra for our own ride.


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear us,

thank you for your kind review! Next time we suggest that you to book our Private gondola ride tour: it does not include the serenade, but you will enjoy a more intimate experience and have an entire gondola at your disposal!

Best regards,
The Insidecom staff
Was this review helpful?
4/10

Ryan

September 2014

Young couple

UNITED STATES

Reviewed on 21 Sep `14 - Booking No. 1465479

'Gondola Serenade'

Tour
Gondola Serenade

This was deceiving as we were expecting to have the person serenading us on our specific gondola. They took about 15 gondolas out with only 1 singer. Not at all what we were expecting.


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear Ryan,

we are sorry you had different expectations about this tour and therefore were not satisfied with it. Anyway, on the tour description, it is specified that, after you have boarded the gondola, you will join other boats to sail together around a boat where musicians and singers will be playing. We regret you missed this important detail before booking! We try to do our best to be clear and transparent in explaining the tour to our clients...

Best regards,
The Insidecom staff
Was this review helpful?
1/10

Cris

August 2014

Mature couple

SPAIN

Reviewed on 25 Aug `14 - Booking No. 1456390

'Gondola Serenade is a fraud'

Tour
Gondola Serenade

The Gondola Serenade service hired was a real disappointment. Exorbitant price for what it really is: six gondolas at the same time with only one singer you barely listened, other gondolas from other companies got in the middle, six people in each gondola... And about the route, it was supposed to be 30 min, it actually was 20 of them stopped on Gran Canal, gondoliers talking and screaming each other, and finally getting in a small street for getting out from the parallel street. Summarizing: 6 gondolas x 6 people x 42€ each = 1512€, a perfect business for them, a fraud for us. This company is NOT ADVISABLE


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear Cris,

we are sorry you were not satisfied with the tour. In fact, this is the first complaint we receive about this tour... If you read the other reviews published on venetoinside.com in Italian you will realize that the Gondola Serenade tour is appreciated by almost all of our clients. We are sorry you had different expectations about it. Maybe you happened to do it during peak days in Venice and therefore the group was larger than usual!

Best regards,
The Insidecom staff
Was this review helpful?
Show more reviews

Check dates

Select language
Choose a date
Input data

Total price
0.00