Womens Alpine Ski-ing World Cup

From 23 January 2009 to 25 January 2009

The Womens Alpine Skiing World Cup takes place at Cortina dAmpezzo from the 23 - 25 January 2009 on the Tofane Olympic piste. A historic moment for Cortina, being the 40th year the competition has taken place in the town, the gem of the Dolomites and the 17th consecutive occasion of the Womens Championship. A few highlights of its history (with 65 competitions in 20 editions): in 1993 the German Katia Seizinger won the downhill, the Austrian Ulrike Maier the slalom and the French Carole Merle triumphed in the giant slalom. 21 victors have been Austrian, including Annemarie Moser Proell and Renate Goetschl, 7 Italian victories, mainly thanks to Isolde Kostner, coming first five times from 1996 to 2001, and Deborah Compagnoni and Karen Putzer in 1997 and 2007. This winter sees the return of the giant slalom on the slopes of Rumerlo. Once again the pearl of the Dolomites will hold the attention of the worlds journalists and ski enthusiasts, making it the largest event next only to the Olympics and World Cup.
By Insidecom Editorial Staff


Period: From 23 January 2009 to 25 January 2009

Event location: Cortina dAmpezzo, Belluno

Contacts: Detailed calendar: www.cortinaclassic.com