REVIEWS

WHAT TRAVELLERS ARE SAYING ABOUT venetoinside.com SERVICES...

Write a review Write a review

Reviews on venetoinside.com are exclusively from travellers who have actually booked a service through the portal and wanted to share their opinion following our request by mail or spontaneously. The reviews only come from those who have experienced the service firsthand and this is guaranteed by the fact that we only accept reviews associated with a unique booking reference number corresponding to a reservation.

Guidelines for review publication info




2,433 Reviews for: Skip the line Entry to St. Mark's Basilica

Reviews in italian (396) Reviews in other languages (2037)
9.5/10
10/10

cal1409

June 2017

Solo traveler

UNITED KINGDOM

Reviewed on 18 Jun `17 - Booking No. 1772194

'Worth every penny'

Ticket
St. Mark's Basilica in Venice - Skip the line Entry

I bought the skip the line ticket, for €2, and the 72 hour travel ticket. Skip the line was worth every penny. It was hot and there was a long line to get into the Basilica, and it was very easy to use the skip the line pass. Also easy to find the place to leave the rucksack while I went round. 72 hour pass with bus back to airport: Not sure I got the value from this, but much easier than buying tickets each time. Easy to find the bus back to the airport. 72 hour pass not quite so good as on the last day, the Sunday, there was a dragon boat race and the Grand Canal was closed to water buses. So I couldn't use it on the last day at all!

Strenghts

Ease of use

Weaknesses

72hr pass - did I use it enough? But the ease of use outweighs this concern


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear cal1409,

thank you for your review! We are sorry you were not able to use the tickets on the last day… We may suppose it was Sunday 4 June and public transports didn’t work regularly because of the Vogalonga. As specified both online and on the voucher ‘In the event of strikes, special events (such as the Redentore, Vogalonga, Historical Regatta, …) and/or high water, ACTV public transport services may be suspended or temporarily restricted’. We apologize for any inconvenience!

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
5
4.5/10

Caliago

June 2017

Mature couple

UNITED KINGDOM

Reviewed on 18 Jun `17 - Booking No. 1773148

'Visit to St Marks and the Doge's Palace'

Ticket
St. Mark's Basilica in Venice - Skip the line Entry

It was fairly straightforward to book, however there's an awful lot of text to read and take in about all the different types of tickets etc that is a bit confusing. It would be good if you could buy one ticket that allows you to visit all the extra places inside the basilica that you don't find out about until you're inside! The biggest drawback of the booking service is that you don't get a QR code emailed to you so that it can be scanned by the museums. You have to print the tickets. Well if you're on holiday in an apartment/Airbnb like we were, that's an impossibility. It's also not environmentally sound and quite anachronistic to be honest. Who asks for paper these days? The basilica was able to scan/use my smartphone booking but with the museum pass - needed for the Doge's Palace - we had to get Ca Rezzonica staff to print. They were helpful and did this but it took ages - the wifi wasn't strong enough at first for me to email the tickets to them and then they had trouble with their printer. We could have hunted down an Internet cafe but we were on holiday and didn't have time for that! I would look around for a more up to date, digital option before buying again.

Strenghts

Fairly straightforward to book but beware of the printing issue.

Weaknesses

The lack of digital QR code which was a real pain and wasted valuable holiday time.


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear Caliago,

thank you for your feedback! Please consider that we are only a reseller of the Venice Civic Museums tickets and therefore have to comply with their official regulation that requires a paper copy of the voucher, but we are transparent in informing our customers about this matter before they book! As for the other services bookable on our portal, we accept the electronic voucher whenever possibile. Concernig the cumulative tickets to access all the attractions inside St. Mark’s Basilica, at the moment it doesn’t exist… We hope it will be soon available and actually we are working on that!

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
3
10/10

LJ

May 2017

Family with children

AUSTRALIA

Reviewed on 16 Jun `17 - Booking No. 1733784

'Skip the line for S.Marco Basilica'

Ticket
St. Mark's Basilica in Venice - Skip the line Entry

Excellent service, we followed the instructions to leave our bags and to find the entrance, and had no waiting time at all. Definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful?
3
9.5/10

Caroline

May 2017

Young couple

UNITED KINGDOM

Reviewed on 14 Jun `17 - Booking No. 1764301

'Skipped the line'

Ticket
St. Mark's Basilica in Venice - Skip the line Entry

Excellent buy - skipped a massive queue

Was this review helpful?
8.5/10

Bogart

May 2017

Mature couple

UNITED STATES

Reviewed on 12 Jun `17 - Booking No. 1754414

'Well Worth Doing Skip the Line'

Ticket
St. Mark's Basilica in Venice - Skip the line Entry

Well worth doing the "Skip the Line" reservation. Saved us waiting over an hour (estimate) in the normal line of people awaiting entry.

Strenghts

Provides a reliable entry time without waiting in very long lnes

Weaknesses

Need to have a person do some crowd control just on the skip the line - line up. Several people were on the wrong line and waited for a while before realizing that. We still waiting about 15 minutes to get in but that was far better than the line up of people without a resservation


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear Bogart,

Thank you for your feedback! Our staff on duty at St. Peter's Door does its best to adress people without a reservation to the correct entrance... Unfortunately we cannot do anything else since St. Mark’s Basilica regulation does not allow to put large signs outside the church, not even to mark the different entrances.

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
1
10/10

Rob

May 2017

Mature couple

UNITED STATES

Reviewed on 12 Jun `17 - Booking No. 1715437

'San Marco'

Ticket
St. Mark's Basilica in Venice - Skip the line Entry

To get a reserved time slot into the Basilica was well worth the 2 Euro charge. We save a lot of time and avoided a very long que. The on-line service to reserve a time is very easy.

Strenghts

Easy to use website

Weaknesses

-

Was this review helpful?
2
10/10

Ramkumar

April 2017

Family with children

INDIA

Reviewed on 12 Jun `17 - Booking No. 1720292

'A must take'

Ticket
St. Mark's Basilica in Venice - Skip the line Entry

Entry to basilica was a Breeze witness tickets!!!

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Thelma

May 2017

Group of friends

UNITED KINGDOM

Reviewed on 11 Jun `17 - Booking No. 1760152

'Well worth it - great time savet'

Ticket
St. Mark's Basilica in Venice - Skip the line Entry

Booked skip the line before holiday. Went straight into basilica at separate entrance whilst other tourists were in a very long queue.

Strenghts

No queues

Weaknesses

-

Was this review helpful?
1
10/10

Peteypeppers

May 2017

Young couple

UNITED KINGDOM

Reviewed on 10 Jun `17 - Booking No. 1766031

'Well worth it for low cost'

Ticket
St. Mark's Basilica in Venice - Skip the line Entry

Skip the queue for a very low cost. Great to avoid the queues on a sunny day.

Strenghts

Spelling.

Weaknesses

None

Was this review helpful?
1
3.5/10

Tourister

May 2017

Mature couple

UNITED STATES

Reviewed on 10 Jun `17 - Booking No. 1749083

'Better than regular line but group tours ruined it'

Ticket
St. Mark's Basilica in Venice - Skip the line Entry

Booked a 12:25pm entry time but upon arrival a number of big group tours were there. We were told that even though we had a reserved time slot the group tours had priority. They said we should have booked for a different time of day. Quite the useless advice. My advice is to book for early morning or later in the day, otherwise you'll have to wait until the group tours enter.

Strenghts

Basilica is beautiful

Weaknesses

Group tours should have to get behind the people who have a reserved time slot. Otherwise, what's the point?


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear Tourister,

we are sorry you were not completely satisfied with the service. Actually, we are working in order to prevent great overcrowding at the entrance, especially during the time slots most booked by tour groups. We apologize for any inconvenience and hope that the problem will be fixed as soon as possibile in order to avoid other similar inconvenience to our customers.

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
1
Show more reviews