REVIEWS

WHAT TRAVELLERS ARE SAYING ABOUT venetoinside.com SERVICES...

Write a review Write a review

Reviews on venetoinside.com are exclusively from travellers who have actually booked a service through the portal and wanted to share their opinion following our request by mail or spontaneously. The reviews only come from those who have experienced the service firsthand and this is guaranteed by the fact that we only accept reviews associated with a unique booking reference number corresponding to a reservation.

Guidelines for review publication info




213 Reviews for: Transport

Reviews in italian (42) Reviews in other languages (171)
8.5/10
9.5/10

The Monk

May 2017

Solo traveler

UNITED STATES

Reviewed on 07 Jun `17 - Booking No. 1736138

'Easy'

Ticket
48 hour Tourist travel card ACTV

Easy to use. Enter your code into one of the machines on the dock and out comes a ticket.

Strenghts

easy

Weaknesses

-

Was this review helpful?
9.5/10

stanatedj

May 2017

Mature couple

UNITED STATES

Reviewed on 05 Jun `17 - Booking No. 1760334

'Great'

Ticket
24 hour Tourist travel card ACTV

No complaints at all but it took a few moments to figure out how to get the machine to print out the card so I'll give it a 9.5 instead of a 10 as that part might have been just a bit more intuitive


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear stanatedj,

thank you for your feedback! We will forward it to the ACTV staff in order to help them in improving the automatic ticket machine.

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
10/10

Soosie

May 2017

Mature couple

UNITED STATES

Reviewed on 04 Jun `17 - Booking No. 1747508

'The Best Way to Go'

Ticket
48 hour Tourist travel card ACTV+ Airport transfer bus one way

It was so easy to purchase ahead of time on this site. The directions were very clear on how to activate on arrival. It was a good value.

Was this review helpful?
4/10

robbert

May 2017

Mature couple

NETHERLANDS

Reviewed on 29 May `17 - Booking No. 1752744

'activation'

Ticket
72 hour Tourist travel card ACTV+ Airport transfer bus return

The machine on the airport to activate the code/tickets was hard to find and it did nog work!!! So we had to buy extra tickets for transport to the airport. Also separate tickets for the way back. The bus connection appears to be useless.

Strenghts

Easy hop on-hop off once in the city

Weaknesses

-


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear robbert,

we are sorry about what happened. Unfortunately it may happen that one automatic ticket machine is out of order… In this case, you are required to go to another ticket machine to pick up your tickets. In cases such as yours, ACTV staff usually allows our customers to get onboard only by showing the voucher, in order to collect the ticket at the next stop. This decision to let you take the bus with the voucher is at the complete discretion of ACTV staff. Actually, it is not clear to us why you had to buy another ticket for the way back… Please send us further details at info@insidecom.it.

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
5/10

R Skeen

May 2017

Mature couple

UNITED KINGDOM

Reviewed on 22 May `17 - Booking No. 1745338

'48 hour ACTV tourist ticket 6 May'

Ticket
48 hour Tourist travel card ACTV

Easy to apply for online. Sadly we ended up unable to use it, losing the time and money we'd hoped to save. Tried to change the voucher into a ticket on 5 May to use first thing on 6 May (to visit Murano, Burano, Torcello). Message came up on the automatic ticket machine at Zattere that the voucher code was invalid. It did not work on 6 May either, including at the manned ticket office at Accademia. Probably our own fault, but clearer instructions on the voucher would have been helpful.

Strenghts

-

Weaknesses

Lack of clear instructions as to when to change voucher into ticket


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear R Skeen,

we are sorry you were not able to use your tickets. Actually, the new automatic ticket machines – which have been working since 2016 – seems to operate better than the older ones, and the positive feedbacks gave by our customers confirm this. To convert your ticket, you just need to insert the PNR code and follow the instructions on the display. We regret you had problems with this! As for the date, as we specify both online and on the voucher, the PNR can be used only starting from the date indicated on the voucher. Anyway, we will bear in mind your suggestion and will try to be even clear than before in providing detailed instructions about how getting the tickets.

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
10/10

Darren Thompson

April 2017

Mature couple

UNITED KINGDOM

Reviewed on 19 May `17 - Booking No. 1734053

'The only way to get into Venice'

Transfer
From Marco Polo Airport - Venice (Venice) to Hotels in Venice (Venice)

We booked the Water Taxis online before we got to Venice and it was a really straight forward experience. We had to wait about an hour for another Flight to land which wasn't the end of the world but once we were all together we were directed to the Pier where our Taxi was waiting and it was about a 40 min transfer to Venice. We went up the Grand Canal and got a great view the Rialto Bridge which was a bonus. This may depend on where the Taxi drops people off of course. A traditional Vaparetto the drivers are helpful with your luggage and you get all your return details and pick up point (if you book a return journey) sent to the hotel the day before you leave. The return journey was just as efficient and it wasn't too expensive.

Strenghts

Efficient All organised and Straight Forward

Weaknesses

Depending on where you come from you may have to wait for other flights to land.


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear Darren Thompson,

thank you for your review! We would only like to clarify that, as specified online, our Venice Airport Shuttles from Marco Polo Airport to Venice city center are guaranteed approx. every hour and a half. This because this is a shared transfer, so it could be necessary to wait a little for other passengers who reserved the same shuttle!

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
10/10

Orkneytim

April 2017

Mature couple

UNITED KINGDOM

Reviewed on 19 May `17 - Booking No. 1689267

'VenetoInside is a great way to buy ACTV Travel Cards in advance!'

Ticket
7 day Tourist travel card ACTV

It was very useful to be able to order and pay for our 7 day ACTV travel card in advance, without any queues or any hassle at a ticket kiosk. We simply named the date we wished the card to start, and paid online for the cards. In return we were sent a simple activation code to input into the automatic ticket machine at the appropriate vaporetto stop to obtain our travel cards. Simples!!

Strenghts

Ease of use and speed of transaction.

Weaknesses

The ACTV could expand its automatic ticket machine network a little. In particular, it would be really useful if there was a machine at Palanka, the nearest stop to the Hilton Molina Stucky.


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear Orkneytim,

thank you for appreciating our service! As per your suggestions to Actv, we will forward them to the ACTV staff in order to help them in improving the service.

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
4.5/10

GC Ten

April 2017

Family with children

UNITED KINGDOM

Reviewed on 19 May `17 - Booking No. 1716232

'Good and bad'

Ticket
7 day Tourist travel card ACTV + Airport transfer bus return

I was unable to redeem my voucher at the airport as the machine was broken. The bus driver was unable to help so I had to pay again, and had no further help at the Piazzala Romana. But I was able to get our tickets. I found no practical way to reclaim the bus ticket price. Having said that, the vaparetto service is excellent, and the staff helpful. I am disabled, and always had help getting on and off when I needed it. I have used the service several times now, and would recommend it.


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear GC Ten,

we are pleased you appreciated the service despite the problems in getting your tickets. Unfortunately it may happen that a machine is temporary out of order… In cases such as this, we suggest our customers to outline the problem to the Actv staff and ask for getting onboard with the voucher in order to stop at the next pier and collect the ticket from another ticket machine. The decision is at their discretion and we are sorry they did not agree. According your partial refund request, unfortunately it is not possible in this case since you purchased a travel card and not a one-way ticket.

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
9/10

AnneMack

April 2017

Mature couple

UNITED KINGDOM

Reviewed on 19 May `17 - Booking No. 1733792

'72 hour water bus pass + bus from airport to pizza Roma'

Ticket
72 hour Tourist travel card ACTV+ Airport transfer bus return

Excellent way to see Venice.

Strenghts

Frequency of water buses, good clear timetable

Weaknesses

We purchased our ticket on line and it was quite difficult to find the machine at the airport to collect our tickets


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear AnneMack,

thank you for your feedback! As for the machine at the airport, unfortunately, at present, some areas of Venice Marco Polo airport are in restoration, therefore the automatic ticket machines are being moved…It is not easy for us to provide updated information to all our customers. As soon as the restoration works will finish, we will provide complete instructions!

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
10/10

Bobbyl

April 2017

Mature couple

UNITED KINGDOM

Reviewed on 19 May `17 - Booking No. 1718385

'Easy travelling on the ACTV'

Ticket
48 hour Tourist travel card ACTV

If you avoid the peak periods, this is an easy way to explore the city at a great saving over the single trip charge. It as simple to convert the travel voucher to a 48 hour ticket and easy access to the transport with a single swipe of the ticket. Good way to see Venice form the water

Strenghts

cheaper and good views of Venice

Weaknesses

can be busy at peak periods

Was this review helpful?
Show more reviews