Half-day excursion to Murano and Burano Islands from Venice Train Station or St. Mark’s Area

Duration: approx. 4 hours/4 hours and 30 minutes  Location: Venice
This tour was already booked by 2,440 people

7.5/10

47 Reviews

Per person
20.00
Gallery

Why choose this experience?

1 To visit Murano and Burano from Venice with a fascinating guided tour by boat, a perfect opportunity to enjoy the peace and the beautiful scenery of boating in the Venetian lagoon
2 Because you can visit the birthplace of Murano glass, and the colourful island of Burano with its elegant lace
3 Because it provides two departure points: you can choose to start the tour from Venice Train Station or near St. Mark’s Square

Are you thinking of visiting Murano and Burano in Venice? ... An exciting and fascinating boat tour  dedicated to those who want to discover the two most famous islands of the Venetian lagoon and savour every moment of their picturesque and relaxing atmosphere. This, in a nutshell, is the program of our fascinating half day boat excursion to Murano and Burano from Venice!

Among our many boat tours to the Venice islands we now offer a proposal that includes only Murano and Burano, a tour of the most famous Venetian islands, to explore them freely and with more time compared to the traditional excursions that usually include Torcello islands too!

The Half-day excursion to Murano and Burano has a variable duration (4 hours / 4 hours and 30 minutes) based on the number of participants and resulting type of vessel used. Before booking, you can choose the departure point you prefer between Venice railway station, a particularly convenient solution for those who reach the city by train for a day, or near St. Mark’s Square. To take part in the tour it is necessary to arrive at the meeting point at least 20 minutes before the departure time shown on the voucher.
Please bear in mind that, at the end of the tour, all participants will be drop off near St. Mark’s Square: it won’t be possible to disembark near Venice train station!

During the visit to Murano and Burano you will be given some explanations about the lagoon and the islands - explanations, are multilingual, and made with the microphone on the boat. The tour is collective and to avoid inconvenience to other participants, please respect the time deadlines provided by the organizers at the end of each stop, as departure will take place without waiting for any latecomers! We advise you to take note of the schedules provided on board and to respect them!

Located north of the historic centre of Venice, Murano and Burano offer beautiful handicrafts that have made them famous worldwide: the first is characterized by the centuries-old glass manufacturing, the second for its sophisticated lace, not to mention the original colourful buildings. Visiting Murano and Burano will give you the most authentic and unusual side of Venice!

During this fascinating tour you will discover the best of Murano and Burano, what to visit, their traditions and the most special places, on a relaxing boat while enjoying the peace and tranquillity of the Venetian lagoon.

To help you fully appreciate the simplicity and the calm that characterizes Murano and Burano, the visit includes only two stops, which lasts about an hour for each island: Murano- includes a trip to a Murano glass factory and you can watch a demonstration of the art of glass blowing. If you do not want to, then just inform the personnel on board and you can walk around the island in total autonomy; the stop in Burano (for approx. 1 and a half hours)- is entirely free: you can visit the island, have lunch, buy local products or simply relax before returning to the boat for the return trip to Venice .

The first stop of the boat ride from Venice to Murano and Burano will include the homeland of glass: the old Murano glassworks guard secrets that have been handed down from generation to generation. The Venice boat trip to Murano will allow you to have the opportunity to purchase original and unique beautiful works of glass art, with the certainty of it being an authentic piece!

The visit to Murano and Burano will then continue on to the island of Burano, where you can stroll through unique streets of brightly coloured houses and discover the small masterpieces of lace made by expert teachers on the island.

With this boat tour to the Venice Islands you will be visiting Murano and Burano on a covered deck boat. The trip to Murano and Burano will also take place in case of rain, unless there are extraordinary conditions that could compromise a safe navigation.

If you are wondering why to choose this particular boat trip to the Venice islands amongst the numerous tours on offer for the lagoon online, the answer is simple! This unusual Murano and Burano island Venice tour combines a limited duration, less than five hours, to the opportunity to discover the two most famous islands of Venice while enjoying the enchanting Venetian lagoon with stops.

Visiting Murano and Burano:  a tour among the colours, the sounds and the traditions of a Venice of the past.

© Insidecom Tour Operator
(authorization no. 62027 dated 09/07/12 with determination no. 2052/2012)

Important info

Availability:

from 1 April to 31 October.

Departure point:
  • Pontile F30 near Calatrava bridge - from Venice Santa Lucia Train Station, go towards Piazzale Roma Bus Terminal. Before crossing the Calatrava bridge, you will find Pontile F30 on your right.
  • yellow desk located on the Riva degli Schiavoni, at the foot of the Ponte della Paglia (which is the bridge located opposite the Bridge of Sighs).
Departure time

Daily

  • 10.30 am from Pontile F30 near Calatrava bridge - from Venice Santa Lucia Train Station, go towards Piazzale Roma Bus Terminal. Before crossing the Calatrava bridge, you will find Pontile F30 on your right.
  • 11.00 am from the yellow desk located on the Riva degli Schiavoni, at the foot of the Ponte della Paglia (which is the bridge located opposite the Bridge of Sighs).
Languages available

English
Spanish
French

German
Italian

Prices

Full: €20.00

Concessions
Children up to 2 years: free
Children from 3 to 5 years: €10.00

Duration
approx. 4 hours/4 hours and 30 minutes
Inclusions
  • Private return boat transfer
  • Visit to Burano and Murano as per program
  • Visit to a glassmaker workshop in Murano (optional)
  • Tour escort
Exclusions
  • Meals and beverages
  • Entrance tickets and optional visits
  • What is not specified under "Inclusions"
Additional information:

Before booking, please be advised that it is compulsory to print a paper copy of the voucher issued at the end of the online reservation and bring it with you the day of the tour.

No credit or refunds will be given in the case of a NO SHOW (if you don't show up at the meeting point at the time indicated on your voucher).

Please arrive at the meeting point at least 10 minutes before the tour departure time.

Multilingual tour.

This is a collective tour, which means there might be other participants going on the tour with you.

Small/medium dogs are welcome on board, only if wearing a muzzle.

This tour is unfortunately not suitable for people with impaired mobility.

The stop in Murano (approx. 45 minutes) allows you an optional visit to a glass factory with a short demonstration of the art of blown glass, and also some free time. The stop in Burano (approx. 1 hour and 30 min.) is entirely free. If the optional visits in the program are not undertaken, you are strongly required to comply with the timetable set out by the staff: the excursion will head back at the scheduled time, without waiting.

In exceptional cases and/or reasons of force majeure that may prevent the tour already purchased to run regularly (i.e. acts of nature, strikes, exceptional closures, serious unexpected events or health problems experienced by the person in charge with the service after which it is really impossible to find a substitute), the tour might be cancelled. The customer will be notified of this as soon as possible and will be asked to choose between postponing the tour on the first date available or receiving a prompt refund of the price paid for the tour, if the cancellation policy of the service itself allows a refund.

Departure point map

47 reviews for Half-day excursion to Murano and Burano Islands from Venice Train Station or St. Mark’s Area

Reviews in other languages (25) Reviews in italian (22)
7.5/10

Write a review

6/10

Arnie

June 2018

Mature couple

UNITED KINGDOM

Reviewed on 27 Jun `18 - Booking No. 185797 - Service sold by a Distribution Partner of Insidecom srl

'Good trip....... but'

Tour
Half-day excursion to Murano and Burano Islands from Venice Train Station or St. Mark’s Area

Boat was very overcrowded on each journey I guess the trip was overbooked. We did not have enough time at Burano and Murano (50minutes each) and that was without seeing the glass blowing and lacemaking

Strengths

Friendly and informed staff beautiful locations

Weaknesses

Massively overbooked left many standing or sitting by the open doors throughout the journey this was dangerous on such a small boat


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear Arnie,

thank you for your feedback.
the boat cannot accommodate more people than expected, so we assure you that it is not a case of an overbooked boat. However, we kindly ask you to tell us more about that writing us an email to info@insidecom.it, so then we can better investigate what happened.

Thank you

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
7/10

Maria

April 2018

Other

PORTUGAL

Reviewed on 10 May `18 - Booking No. 1831208 - Service sold by a Distribution Partner of Insidecom srl

'Stunning landscape but guide-tour could be improved'

Tour
Half-day excursion to Murano and Burano Islands from Venice Train Station or St. Mark’s Area

The landscape in both islands (and during the boat trip) was stunning, but the guide was not motivated at all and did not engage with the public in a professional way. She seemed like 'being doing a favour to someone' and the piece of information provided during the tour was not very interesting and not clear - the sound-system was bad and difficult to listen to. For this kind of guided-tour, it was not worth taking the guided-tour instead of tsking the vaporetto... It was also not clear where the meeting point was and the guides were not there in advance (contrary to what we were told in the voucher to do).

Strengths

Landscapes

Weaknesses

Organisation, guided-tour


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear Maria,

Thank you for your feedback. We regret to hear from you that you did not appreciate the tour guide explanations.
Please consider that the guide tried to do her best to provide participants with essential information about the tour highlights using the time at her disposal... We are sorry this was not good enough for you!
As regards the meeting point, we are sorry you did not contact us, we would have been more than glad to assist and help you.

Anyway, we are going to report your feedback to the company in charge with this service. Your comments are always important to us to better understand our customer needs and improve our services.

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
0/10

Ashley Grace Novak

March 2018

Group of friends

UNITED STATES

Reviewed on 28 Mar `18 - Booking No. 1812561 - Service sold by a Distribution Partner of Insidecom srl

'Ashley Grace Novak'

Tour
Half-day excursion to Murano and Burano Islands from Venice Train Station or St. Mark’s Area

We were not able to find the location of where the tour was leaving. I was greatly disappointed by the lack of clarity provided on the directions- there were two locations on the confirmation sheet of where to meet. I thought this whole tour to be a scam and when I called the emergency number the woman on the phone was not able to help at all and quickly ended the call. My good friend was visiting me from the US and I booked this tour as something nice for the two of us, we got up very early to catch a train from Florence to Venice in order to be at the meeting point an hour before we were set to leave, and we sat at the meeting point for that time with no one ever coming. This tour completely ruined the beginning of our day and I am so disappointed by the lack of care or clarity from this entire tour. I would never recommend this tour and I will be sure to steer others away from it.

Strengths

None.

Weaknesses

Everything.


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear Ashley Grace Novak,

Thank you for you feedback.
We are sorry you had some difficulties in finding the meeting point, please notice that both on the voucher and on the webpage of the tour you booked, it is clearly described where the meeting point is.
As a matter of fact we provide as much details as we can to be clear and precise.

We are also sorry that you did not find our indications, provided over the phone, useful enough, but we can assure you that we always do our best in order to guarantee a great and satisfying Customer care service; in fact as you can see from the hundreds of reviews we receive every day, our guests are more than happy about our assistance team.

We are sorry you disagree with us.

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
0/10

Annoyed

March 2018

Group of friends

UNITED STATES

Reviewed on 28 Mar `18 - Booking No. 1812560 - Service sold by a Distribution Partner of Insidecom srl

'Burano Murano Tour'

Tour
Half-day excursion to Murano and Burano Islands from Venice Train Station or St. Mark’s Area

DO NOT DO THIS!!!! WORST EVER. First, our ticket had two different meeting places on it (??) We got there 40 minutes early so we went to both meeting places many times and no one was there to give a tour. We called the number and the lady told us to only "find a blue boat" too bad there are like 300 blue boats in venice. We waited for 30 minutes after our tour still hopeful someone would show up but no one ever did. We were scammed out of our money and I am convinced that this is not an actual tour. DO NOT BUT THIS. I was most excited about seeing Burano and was unfortunately unable to because of this trainwreck of a tour. DO NOT BUY THIS TOUR. I CAN'T SAY IT ENOUGH. Total waste of time and money. Exremely unprofessional and very upsetting.

Strengths

NONE

Weaknesses

EVERYTHING.


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear Guest,

we are sorry you did not appreciate the tour.
Please notice that the voucher includes two different meeting points as the tour starts from two different places; you simply have so identify the right departure place according to the time you chose while booking: 10.30 am or 11.00 am.

In fact both the website and the voucher state:
[...]
10.30 am from Pontile F30 near Calatrava bridge - from Venice Santa Lucia Train Station, go towards Piazzale Roma Bus Terminal. Before crossing the Calatrava bridge, you will find Pontile F30 on your right.
11.00 am from the yellow desk located on the Riva degli Schiavoni, at the foot of the Ponte della Paglia (which is the bridge located opposite the Bridge of Sighs).
[...]

We are sorry this was not clear for you.

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
2/10

RN

March 2018

Family with children

UNITED STATES

Reviewed on 27 Mar `18 - Booking No. 1811382 - Service sold by a Distribution Partner of Insidecom srl

'the meet up place wasn't marked clearly at the place.'

Tour
Half-day excursion to Murano and Burano Islands from Venice Train Station or St. Mark’s Area

We searched for the meetup spot (ferry stop F, I think.) around and around, crossed the bridge three times, asked 3 strangers to finally find the right meetup spot and by that time the ferry sailed off 5 minutes ago so we didn't get to enjoy the trip. I wish instead of google map coordinates, the name of the cafe in front of the meetup spot was given because we passed by that spot multiple times without realizing we were supposed to meet in front of the cafe. Very disappointed.

Strengths

-

Weaknesses

meetup spot needs to be marked more clear.


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear RN,

we are sorry you did not have the chance to enjoy the tour.
Please notice that both the voucher and the website clearly describe where the meeting point is:

10.30 am from Pontile F30 near Calatrava bridge - from Venice Santa Lucia Train Station, go towards Piazzale Roma Bus Terminal. Before crossing the Calatrava bridge, you will find Pontile F30 on your right.

Please notice that our Customer Care team is always at our guests' disposal. We are sorry you did not phone us in order to get further information and assistance about the departure place.

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
10/10

Spain Family

February 2018

Family with children

SPAIN

Reviewed on 18 Feb `18 - Booking No. 185095 - Service sold by a Distribution Partner of Insidecom srl

'Excellent'

Tour
Half-day excursion to Murano and Burano Islands from Venice Train Station or St. Mark’s Area

The location, staff and materials for the masks were excellent!

Strengths

The staff were extremely nice and the facility was fantastic

Weaknesses

Nothing

Was this review helpful?
7.5/10

Cosmin & Cristina

January 2018

Young couple

ROMANIA

Reviewed on 19 Jan `18 - Booking No. 18160 - Service sold by a Distribution Partner of Insidecom srl

'Review'

Tour
Half-day excursion to Murano and Burano Islands from Venice Train Station or St. Mark’s Area

The Murano glass factory experience was nicely done and explained and I must say that we were impressed by the beauty of the Burano island. One think that can definitely be improved is the guide's English's skill as for those that don't speak Italian it's very hard to actually understand something. The trip overall was alright.

Strengths

The glass factory experience. The beauty of the Burano island.

Weaknesses

The guide's English skill was very poor.


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear Cosmin & Cristina,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback on your recent trip with us.
We are glad to hear you enjoyed the tour (we know that Venetian islands are so fascinating!) but sorry you were not satisfied with the English explanations of our guide. Actually, she does her best to provide in English the same quality standard she guarantees in her mother tongue, however Italian people are not known to be so brilliant in the pronunciation and fluency of foreign languages and sometimes have difficulties with their strong Italian accent.
Unfortunately she makes no exception but keeps trying to improve her skills and doesn't give up!

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
9/10

Ray

November 2017

Mature couple

UNITED KINGDOM

Reviewed on 02 Dec `17 - Booking No. 17207089

'Nice day out'

Tour
Half-day excursion to Murano and Burano Islands from Venice Train Station or St. Mark’s Area

Great half day excursion to murano and burano.

Strengths

Convenient pickup and drop off location. Friendly and knowledgeable staff.

Weaknesses

The pickup point in St Mark's wasn't detailed very well on the booking details as it only showed the first pickup up by the station. It would be useful to have the exact location shown for this pickup as well. Also the Pa system wasn't very good quality and a bit distorted.


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear Cosmin & Cristina,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.
We are glad to hear you enjoyed the tour, Venetian islands are so fascinating!
We regret to hear that the meeting point was not clear enough for you, but please notice that the website descrioption of the tour includes two different meeting points as the tour starts from two different places, however, the voucher specifies the exact meeting point according to time chosen while making the reservation.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to experience the high standard of our services.

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
5/10

Pat'n'ali

November 2017

Young couple

UNITED KINGDOM

Reviewed on 22 Nov `17 - Booking No. 17207907 - Service sold by a Distribution Partner of Insidecom srl

'Island Visit'

Tour
Half-day excursion to Murano and Burano Islands from Venice Train Station or St. Mark’s Area

The boat was fine, turned up on time and delivered us. There was no tour guide however and no info as we sailed down the river. This was disappointing as it had been sold as a 'tour'. We could have had the same experience had we traveled on public transport. The glass blowing demo lasted about 5 minutes and all they really wanted to do was sell us some glass.

Strengths

Boat was on time and included the sites we wanted to visit. The islands are beautiful and worth a visit. Particularly Burano.

Weaknesses

No tour, literally just transport. Glass demo lasted 5 minutes.


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear Pat'n'ali,

thank you for your feedback.
We apologize for the absence of the tour guide on site. This is just one of the very few tours that is not organized by Veneotoinside.com.

However, we ensure you that we have immediately changed the tour provider, as we noticed that, despite their promises, they did not respect our high quality standards, which are fundamental to us, in order to provide a great and impeccable service to all our customers.

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
1/10

Barber

November 2017

Mature couple

UNITED STATES

Reviewed on 18 Nov `17 - Booking No. 17206978 - Service sold by a Distribution Partner of Insidecom srl

'Murano burano islands'

Tour
Half-day excursion to Murano and Burano Islands from Venice Train Station or St. Mark’s Area

Difficult to access. Unable to use the event we purchased. They wouldn't accept our voucher. Even though we had email and credit card proof of purchase.

Strengths

None

Weaknesses

Unable to access the point of service


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear Barber, 

we are sorry for what happened. 

Please notice that the boat team always accept Venetoinside.com vouchers, maybe you were not at the correct meeting point. 

We kindly ask you to write us at info@insidecom.it in order to get further infomration on that. 

Thank you

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
Show more reviews

Check dates

Select language
Choose a date
Input data



Total price
0.00