Skip the line: Doge's Palace Guided Tour

Duration: approx. 1 hour and 15 minutes  Location: Venice
This tour was already booked by 22,986 people

8.5/10

107 Reviews

Per person
36.00
Gallery

Why choose this experience?

1 Because it will allow you to get in touch with the fascinating history of Venice during a visit to the sumptuous Doge’s apartments and the rooms where the history of Venice was decided
2 Because you will admire the works of the great artists who have graced its interior, such as Titian, Veronese, Tintoretto, and many others
3 To cross the famous Bridge of Sighs and visit the dungeons of the Republic of Venice, where Giacomo Casanova was imprisoned

Inside the majestic Palazzo Ducale in Venice, Italy a tour of Doge's Palace to discover the precious rooms where, for centuries, the history of the powerful Republic of Venice was determined.

Our fascinating Palazzo Ducale Venice Tour takes you to the most important places of the ancient Republic of Venice, the richly decorated rooms of the Doge's Apartment with its large enclosed courtyard, up to the Armoury, the terrible dungeons and the famous Venice Bridge of sighs: a complete visit to learn and fully appreciate the splendid Doge's Palace in Venice, Italy.

Thanks to this fascinating Venice Doge's Palace tour, you will be transported back in time to the centuries when Venice was at its golden age and the Doge's Palace was the centre of the political power of the Serenissima.

A detailed guided tour that will show you the treasures hidden in the Doge's Palace in Venice, from the masterpieces of the great artists who helped to enhance the splendour of the Republic of Venice to the sumptuous details of the sculptures and decorative elements.

The duration of the Doge's Palace tour in Venice will be about an hour, during which you can admire the Opera Museum, which houses the ancient capitals of the porch and portico of Doge's Palace, which form a fascinating allegorical 'speech' balanced between the sacred and the profane, history and legend, astronomy and astrology in a kind of poem in stone with human figures, animals, plants, symbols and signs of the zodiac, the ancient honour entrance of the Doge's Palace, the Giant's Staircase, with the two statues of Mars and Neptune sculpted by Sansovino, the Lodge Atrium, from which you can admire the picturesque views of the courtyard of the Doge's Palace and St Mark's Square, the famous Golden Staircase, with marble statues dedicated to Atlas and Hercules, elegant surroundings where the history of the Republic of Venice was determined, the Institutional Chambers, outlined by a decorative program that celebrates the functions and virtues of Venice.

Our tour also includes a visit to the famous Sighs Bridge Venice, Italy, which connects the Doge's Palace to the New Prisons. Built in 1614, the Bridge of Sighs was later covered and divided into two parallel corridors connected to a stair that leads from the Wells to the Piombi (the Leads). Its sad nickname refers to the convicts who, when crossing it, exhaled their last breath in freedom before serving their sentences in the prisons of Venice.

There are many itineraries which explore Doge's Palace, Venice: but our tour, facilitated by an expert Venetian tourist guide, wants you to discover the magic of this age-old building that has witnessed firsthand the development of the troubled history of Venice.

venetoinside.com offers you the opportunity to book your visit to the Doge's Palace in Venice at fixed times and conveniently online, so that you can enjoy this unique journey in a tranquil manner to discover the treasures in the ancient Doge's Palace of Venice.

© Insidecom Tour Operator
(authorization no. 62027 dated 09/07/12 with determination no. 2052/2012)

Important info

Availability:

all year, except for 25 December and 1 January.

Departure point:

under the Clock Tower in St. Mark's Square.

Departure time

Daily

From 1 April to 31 October
10.45 am
2.15 pm (only in English)

From 1 November to 31 March
10.45 am

Languages available

From 1 April to 31 October
English: daily
Spanish: daily
French: daily
German: daily
Italian: Saturday

From 1 November to 31 March
BILINGUAL TOUR
English: daily
Spanish: Wednesday, Saturday, Sunday
French: Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday
German: Monday, Friday
Italian: not available

Prices

From 1 April to 31 October
Full: €36.00
Concessions
Children up to 5 years: free

From 1 November to 31 March
Full: €36.00
Concessions
Children up to 5 years: free

Duration
approx. 1 hour and 15 minutes
Inclusions
  • Guided tour
  • Admission to the Doge’s Palace
Exclusions
  • What is not specified under "Inclusions"
Additional information:

Before booking, please be advised that it is compulsory to print a paper copy of the voucher issued at the end of the online reservation and bring it with you the day of the tour.

No credit or refunds will be given in the case of a NO SHOW (if you don't show up at the meeting point at the time indicated on your voucher).

Please arrive at the meeting point at least 10 minutes before the tour departure time.

At the tour departure point you will meet a representative who will check your vouchers and give you information to do the tour. Please be advised that, due to the new security measures concerning the entrance into the major Venice museums, there might be queues at the entrance, with consequent protraction of the usual waiting time to access the museums.

During the winter period (from November 1st to March 31st) the tour is BILINGUAL, because explanations will be provided in two languages if the audience provenience is mixed.

This is a collective tour, which means there might be other participants going on the tour with you.

Please note that, due to the particular morphological structure of Venice and the logistic problems resulting from it, we cannot guarantee that the whole tour is accessible to people with limited mobility. This means that people with walking difficulties and wheelchair users could not be able to access some parts of the itinerary.

In exceptional cases and/or reasons of force majeure that may prevent the tour already purchased to run regularly (i.e. acts of nature, strikes, exceptional closures, serious unexpected events or health problems experienced by the person in charge with the service after which it is really impossible to find a substitute), the tour might be cancelled. The customer will be notified of this as soon as possible and will be asked to choose between postponing the tour on the first date available or receiving a prompt refund of the price paid for the tour, if the cancellation policy of the service itself allows a refund.

Departure point map

107 reviews for Skip the line: Doge's Palace Guided Tour

Reviews in other languages (100) Reviews in italian (7)
8.5/10

Write a review

8.5/10

Helen

March 2018

Mature couple

UNITED KINGDOM

Reviewed on 20 Mar `18 - Booking No. 187290 - Service sold by a Distribution Partner of Insidecom srl

'Doge palace tour'

Tour
Skip the line: Doge's Palace Guided Tour

Informative guide, very good English speaker. Interesting building wth a good overview of the history.

Strengths

Lovely building, excellent guide. Enjoyed the history

Weaknesses

Skip the line doesn't describe it properly as we still had to queue. Would havvliked to see a bit more of the prison cells

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Fidanis

January 2018

Young couple

GREECE

Reviewed on 14 Feb `18 - Booking No. 183527

'Very good offer'

Tour
Skip the line: Doge's Palace Guided Tour

The best way to visit the palace and the archeological museum....The guide was excellent very polite and willing to answer all the questions we might had...very nice experience!

Strengths

good price excellent guide best way to visit palace

Weaknesses

Nothing.

Was this review helpful?
9/10

Mathieu

October 2017

Mature couple

NETHERLANDS

Reviewed on 20 Oct `17 - Booking No. 17186819 - Service sold by a Distribution Partner of Insidecom srl

'Skip the line: Doge's Palace Guided Tour'

Tour
Skip the line: Doge's Palace Guided Tour

Very enhousiastic guide who could explain everything clear and understandable.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Mrs. LLY

August 2017

Mature couple

UNITED STATES

Reviewed on 14 Sep `17 - Booking No. 17124808

'Doge's Palace - Fascinating!'

Tour
Skip the line: Doge's Palace Guided Tour

Very interesting tour of the Doge's Palace. Outstanding tour guide (I think her name was Sylvia but, unfortunately, I can't remember for sure). Plenty of time to appreciate the history and beauty of this gem.

Strengths

Tour guide, time allotted for seeing and appreciating the beauty of the Palace and stories being shared.

Weaknesses

-

Was this review helpful?
0.5/10

Alexandra C

July 2017

Family with children

CANADA

Reviewed on 07 Sep `17 - Booking No. 17114785

'Rip off with Doge's Palace Guided Tour!'

Tour
Skip the line: Doge's Palace Guided Tour

This review is regarding the Doge's Palace Guided Tour offered by Venetoinside. My family and I were in Venice this past July and had bought nine tickets for the tour at 36 euro a person. Our tour was scheduled at 2:15 pm and we were instructed to meet the tour guide outside of the clock tower in St. Mark's Square. As most people already know or may have guessed, Venice is a very busy city and there are numerous tour groups near its attractions at any given point. We were not instructed on how to identify our tour guide in such a busy and vague location. Nevertheless, we had arrived at the clock tower with time to spare for our scheduled tour. Not only did we spend quite some time looking for an unidentifiable tour guide with no success, but we also ran into another couple facing the same challenge. The tour guide was nowhere to be seen! The couple we had run into called the company to let them know of our situation, and we were informed that the tour guide had departed earlier than our scheduled time, leaving 11 people behind. Absolutely no apologies were given to us, let alone a refund. We were told that there was nothing that could be done. I am horribly upset with Venetoinside and I will never be using their services again.

Strengths

Online booking was fairly simple.

Weaknesses

The tour company is poorly organized, rips off their customers, and has terrible customer service.


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear Alexandra C,

We are sorry you were not satisfied with our service, but please notice that both on the voucher you received via email as confirmation of the reservation and on our website, it is clearly explained how to recognize the tour guide waiting for you at the meeting point, as the request to the guests to be on time.

“[…] Please arrive at the meeting point at least 10 MINUTES BEFORE THE DEPARTURE TIME indicated. At the tour departure point you will meet a representative who will check your vouchers and give information to do the tour. It will be easy to recognize him/her from his/her uniform (white shirt and blue trousers; during the colder months blue jacket with the notice TURIVE on the small pocket) and a big sign with the notice TOURS clearly displayed. […]”

We are sorry you did not read it.

Furthermore, our operative staff always offers an alternative and we are sorry that those options did not suit you.

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
10/10

Stef

July 2017

Mature couple

ROMANIA

Reviewed on 18 Jul `17 - Booking No. 1794786

'Impressive'

Tour
Skip the line: Doge's Palace Guided Tour

Many details, great tour

Strengths

a lot of information

Weaknesses

-

Was this review helpful?
8.5/10

The Monk

May 2017

Solo traveler

UNITED STATES

Reviewed on 06 Jun `17 - Booking No. 1738139

'Excellent Experience'

Tour
Skip the line: Doge's Palace Guided Tour

Excellent experience. Tour was great and very informative. Worth every penny.

Strengths

Knowledgeable tour guide.

Weaknesses

A lot of steps.


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear The Monk,

thank you for your review! About the steps… As you should have seen, the Doge’s Palace is very big… We think it’s worth a bit effort to fully appreciate it, don’t you?

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
8.5/10

Robert

May 2017

Mature couple

UNITED STATES

Reviewed on 06 Jun `17 - Booking No. 1761936

'Knowledgeable Guide, (rude check-in)'

Tour
Skip the line: Doge's Palace Guided Tour

The experience started out on a bad note. There was nobody at the check-in at the time we were told to arrive. They got there a little late and the woman who checked us in was rather unpleasant. She had a lofty opinion of herself for no apparent reason. Our guide, however, Stephanie, was extremely informative and charming.

Strengths

Our guide had studied history and art and it was extremely apparent. She presented material in an informed and understandable manner.

Weaknesses

As previously mentioned, our check-in agent arrived late, had quite an attitude and was unpleasant.


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear Robert,

we are pleased you appreciated the tour and the guide despite the not very welcoming treatment at the meeting point. We will do further investigation on this matter in order to recognize who was in charge on that day and try to prevent other similar situations from happening again. Our apologies for this!

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
10/10

Mone

May 2017

Other

UNITED KINGDOM

Reviewed on 02 Jun `17 - Booking No. 1737134 - Service sold by a Distribution Partner of Insidecom srl

'Amazing'

Tour
Skip the line: Doge's Palace Guided Tour

Would highly recommend this tour!

Strengths

The guide was brilliant, so much knowledge and enthusiasm. You could tell that she loved her job. Also, the tickets last 3 months and can be used in two other museums, which we didn't know until after the tour.

Weaknesses

Would have been great to have had the tickets before hand to make the most of them. We didn't get chance to use them for the other museums as we booked our tour for the end of our trip.


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear Mone,

thank you for your kind review! Unfortunately it is not possibile to obtain the tickets before the tour because they are connected to the voucher you are required to show to the staff at the tour meeting point.

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
0.5/10

Linda

May 2017

Group of friends

UNITED STATES

Reviewed on 25 May `17 - Booking No. 16136877

'Doge's Palace'

Tour
Skip the line: Doge's Palace Guided Tour

Terrible, there was no one there to meet us. The three of us spread out and checked every area in St. Mark's square, even had someone at the entrance to the Doge, asked other tour guides, no one could find your company. We did not get a tour and had to pay for our own entrance with no tour. Very disappointed, we arrived early, searched everywhere. I don't know how we could have missed them with one of us at the entrance to the Doge.

Strengths

-

Weaknesses

No tour


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear Linda,

we are sorry you were not able to find the guide and attend the tour as planned. Please consider that this a regular tour, which means that it operates daily, at the same time and meeting point. On May 8th the tour started regularly, thus if you have been at the meeting point 10 minutes before the departure time indicated on your voucher, you would have certainly met the guide. As an alternative, you could have written or phoned us in order to reschedule your tour… We regret this did not happen, since you would have the chance to attend the tour another day!

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
Show more reviews

Check dates

Select language
Choose a date
Input data


Total price
0.00