Shared gondola ride

Duration: approx. 30 minutes 

Location: Venice

Per person
33.00
Book
Gallery

Why choose this experience?

1 To discover the small and picturesque narrow channels that can only be reached by gondola
2 Because you will admire Venice from the water to capture the charm and magic of this city
3 To enjoy an amazing gondola ride at an extremely favourable cost

Book now

0
1
2
Choose your time
3

4
0.00

This tour has been already booked by 31,915 people

Important information

Availability:

From 1 May 2021 to 2 November 2022

Departure point:

TURIVE kiosk, located on Calle larga de l'Ascension, near the St. Mark's Post Office, behind Correr Museum

Departure time

Until 31 March 2022
Daily
11.00
15.00

From 1 April 2022
Daily
11.00
15.00
17.15

 

Languages available

No explanations during the tour

Prices

Full price: € 33.00
Reductions
Children up to 1 year: free

Duration
approx. 30 minutes
Inclusions
  • Gondola ride
Exclusions
  • Descriptions of palaces and tourist landmarks
  • What is not specified under "Inclusions"
Additional information:
  • Once your booking has been confirmed, download the voucher that will also be sent to you via email. You will need to show it at the boarding point, either printed or on your smartphone.

  • Please arrive at the meeting point at least 10 minutes before the departure time. At the meeting point, a member of staff will check your voucher and give you directions.

  • There is a short walk from the meeting point to the boarding point.

  • The tour is shared, so there may be other people on the gondola with you. Each gondola can accommodate up to a maximum of 5 people: for bookings of more than 5 people, the group will be divided into two or more gondolas.

  • In case of bad weather, the tour may be suspended. However, we ask you to present yourself at the boarding point to find out if the tour takes place or learn about any alternative options for the service you purchased.

  • Locate in advance the meeting point on the map to avoid arriving late especially in the event of strikes, demonstrations or bad weather: we cannot guarantee you any refund (in full or in part) if you do not present yourself at the meeting point at the specified time or if you decide to leave the experience before the end. If you need assistance, feel free to contact us at the emergency contacts shown in the reservation voucher.

  • COVID-19: the use of face covering is mandatory for the entire duration of the gondola ride.

  • The pictures on this page may not exactly represent the itinerary of the gondola ride.

In exceptional cases and/or reasons of force majeure (i.e. acts of nature, strikes, exceptional closures,serious unexpected events or health problems experienced by the person in charge with the service after which it is really impossible to find a substitute) the service you booked might be cancelled. If this should happen, you will be informed as soon as possible and, according to the type of service you booked, you will have the possibility to choose between postponing the service on the first date available or receiving a total refund of the price paid, if the cancellation policy of the service itself allows a refund.

Read more

Full description

Our gondola ride in Venice will lead you to the discovery of some unusual and lesser-known corners of the city of water. After all, a Venice gondola ride is the best way to admire its majestic architectural masterpieces overlooking the waterways and the myriad of bridges and views.

With us you can do that at a very convenient price: the cost of the gondola ride in Italy is already agreed upon. Book online, travel to the meeting point and get on board. Problem solved!

This gondola tour is shared: the gondola can accommodate up to a maximum of 5 people.


Itinerary

During the itinerary, lasting about 30 minutes, you will sail from the Basilica della Salute on the Grand Canal to the alluring and evocative atmosphere of the minor canals around the La Fenice Theater.

You will admire from the outside the famous Basilica della Salute, one of the best examples of Baroque architecture in Venice. Built as a votive offering to the Virgin Mary by the inhabitants of Venice for the plague of the 17th century, it offers different perspectives depending on the location from which it is observed.

After leaving the Grand Canal, you will then enter the charming smaller canals, where you will discover a lesser-known side to Venice whilst being lulled by the peaceful swaying that accompanies the navigation on a gondola.

The gondola ride in Venice, Italy, will take you to the most famous theater in Venice, La Fenice, which has hosted numerous premieres by great Italian authors such as Rossini, Bellini, Verdi and Donizetti. You will admire its scenic tower, destroyed by the terrible fire in 1996, but today faithfully rebuilt.


Useful tip

Do you fancy something a bit more private? Take a look at our private gondola tour which, at a slightly higher price, offers an entire gondola all to yourself.

© Insidecom Tour Operator
(authorization no. 62027 dated 09/07/12 with determination no. 2052/2012)
Read more

Reviews for Shared gondola ride

8.5/10
Based on 63 Reviews
Reviews in other languages (27) Reviews in italian (36)
8.5/10

Mon

Solo traveler
UNITED STATES

Booking No. 19207127

Reviewed on 25 Nov `19

'Mandatory experience'

This gondola ride made my trip complete!

Strengths

Extremely organized

Weaknesses

Wish it were longer

Was this review helpful?
2
9/10

Chiara

Young couple
ITALY

Booking No. 1821682

Reviewed on 04 Jun `18

Service sold by a Distribution Partner of Insidecom srl

'Giro in gondola'

Giro molto carino, gondoliere simpatico.

Was this review helpful?
1
10/10

Vincent van Leenen

Young couple
NETHERLANDS

Booking No. 1813095

Reviewed on 24 Apr `18

'Experienced Venice in the best way'

When you're in Venice you of course need to have a gondola tour! The tour was very well organized since we could meet close at San Marco Square and when I booked, clear instructions were given. The tour itself was amazing. We were lucky to have the experienced Gondoliere 'Papalone" who was very kind, made funny jokes, told stories and gave information about the places we sailed in both English and Italian, sang and made show out of it with colleagues. He also recommended us a very good restaurant. I would definitely recommend to book a Gondola tour in advance since the prices they charge you when you arrange a Gondola tour in Venice are way higher than we paid at Veneto Inside.

Strengths

Very good Gondoliere Clear Instructions Good price

Weaknesses

-

Was this review helpful?
1
10/10

Billy Rose

Mature couple
UNITED STATES

Booking No. 17158903

Reviewed on 16 Sep `17

'Luca Rocks!'

Venice is best seen from the waterline, and this is the best way to do it! That said, our gondolier Luca made the experience great. We chose a group tour, and we two mature Yanks had the pleasure of riding with two young Aussies and an Italian expat. The five of us were able to get Luca to tell his story, to laugh at us, and to show off his helmsmanship. He also had us perfectly placed to see the Parade of the Gondoliers at Santa Maria della Salute. To the detractors of group tours: if you have a positive attitude and don't act like an Ugly American, you will enjoy yourself much more.

Strengths

Preset price, and a guaranteed seat. LUCA!!!

Weaknesses

None we could see.

Was this review helpful?
1
5/10

wooncherk

Mature couple
MALAYSIA

Booking No. 17122882

Reviewed on 21 Aug `17

Service sold by a Distribution Partner of Insidecom srl

'You can get a gondola ride at €2.00'

Don't waste your money on this. Don't get me wrong, gondola ride is fun. But the service is not. Basically the gondolier just row you through various canals in Venice, WITHOUT any sort of communication. Not even a smile. I know this is a package service without serenade (which can be bought at a much more expensive price), but a simple "hi" would have made the experience even better. So basically, you are just sitting on the gondola like a dumb. The gondolier just did his job of rowing, no explanation of any sort. If that's the case, you might as well take the €2.00 ride: http://www.italymagazine.com/news/gondola-ride-two-euros (I got to know this after being told by my local Venetian guide. Unfortunately, I have already booked my ride)

Strengths

Experience beautiful scenery of Venice via gondola.

Weaknesses

Bad experience. Zero communication between the gondolier and the passenger, not even a friendly smile.


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear Wooncherk,


We are sorry that the gondola ride did not match your expectations.
As for the explanations you expected from the gondolier, please consider that they are not included in the tour you reserved, as we clearly specify on our gondola ride webpage.
A for the suggestion you give to replace this experience with a much cheaper €2.00 ride, we are really surprised you called "gondola ride" what is in fact a completely different service.
First of all, it does not consist of a gondola ride but of a mere canal crossing from a side to the other, lasting approximately 2 minutes instead of our 30-minute tour.
Secondly, it is not provided with a real gondola but with a different boat, which is bigger and does not allow people to relax by sitting comfortably.
As for the gondolier, we sincerely apologize for his behaviour. Unfortunately it is not easy to find 100% reliable and professional gondoliers and some of them do not care about customer satisfaction so much. We can assure you that we are already working in order to penalize gondoliers who did not prove to have a proper behaviour towards our customers.

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
2
9/10

Steven

Group of friends
UNITED STATES

Booking No. 1757750

Reviewed on 01 Jun `17

Service sold by a Distribution Partner of Insidecom srl

'Fun little ride'

Fun, scenic, soothing - wish it went a little longer but overall not bad for the price.

Strengths

Affordable, scenic

Weaknesses

Somewhat short but still ok

Was this review helpful?
3/10

Jen

Group of friends
UNITED STATES

Booking No. 1714924

Reviewed on 19 May `17

'Gonolda Ride'

This gondola ride was not the experience we were hoping for. It felt like a group of cattle being pushed onto their boats as quick as possible and then being told to get off as quick as possible since the time you pick ends up being at least 30 other people at the same time. I would not recommend this tour to anyone. Our gondolier yelled personal conversations to other gondliers which ruined the ride even more. The ride only lasted 20 minutes at most. Horrible experience especially since for the same price we could have had a private ride with the correct amount of time and it would have been more peaceful had we just picked one of the numerous companies available in person.


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear Jen,

we are sorry that the gondola ride was not as you expected. You booked a collective tour and not a private one, thus you should have been warned about the fact that there would have been other people. During the peak season, the groups may be very large but the staff on duty at the meeting point always do its best to handle the situation properly. We apologize for the behaviour of the gondolier, unfortunately it is not easy to find 100% reliable and professional gondoliers… Some of them do not care about customer satisfaction at all! We can assure you that we are already working in order to penalize gondoliers who did not prove to have a proper behaviour towards our customers. Next time, if you are interested in a private experience, we suggest you our private gondola ride.

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
3
10/10

Ale

Solo traveler
UNITED STATES

Booking No. 16118884

Reviewed on 12 Oct `16

'Great experience!'

I was debating on whether to splurge on a solo gondola ride in Venice or to use this service and get a lower price for my ride. Being a frugal traveler, I opted to pre-book my gondola ride and go with a group. The meeting place was very easy to find, and if you show up early/on time then you'll have no issues finding your guide. As a single rider I was placed with a family of 5 and they were kind enough to take some lovely photos of me on the gondola (which I wouldn't have had if I had hired a gondola for just myself!). The ride was quiet, but we also went down the Grand Canal just long enough to get some magnificent views. Overall, I was very pleased with my experience and this service is something I will recommend highly to any friends traveling to Venice.

Was this review helpful?
6
5/10

maryd

Other
UNITED STATES

Booking No. 16115736

Reviewed on 07 Oct `16

'Mixed'

I had booked a seat for my travel companion and me. He was unable to come so I requested that I be put into a gondola with just 4 other people since I had paid for two places. The person who was in charge was very rude in refusing my request. Another ticket holder came up to me and invited me to join their group of 4. When we were being seated, the same person originally refused that request only relenting when the others insisting. The ride itself was good - very nice Gondolier and this was a good way to experience a gondola ride at a reasonable price.

Strengths

Inexpensive way to capture the gondola experience.

Weaknesses

Placement of seats was awkward.


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear maryd,

we are sorry for the rude behavior of the staff! Please consider that your travel companion, who didn’t show up at the meeting point in time for the departure time of the tour, was considered as a NO-SHOW and therefore the voucher was valid only for you... Unfortunately, this is our policy. Anyway we are pleased you enjoyed the tour despite the inconvenience at the beginning!

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
1
7.5/10

Juliana L.

Young couple
ARGENTINA

Booking No. 16100540

Reviewed on 01 Oct `16

'Paseo de Góndola'

El paseo es tal cuál lo ofrecido: 30 minutos sin comentarios por parte del gondolero ni música. Lo que no te dicen es que hay otras 100 personas que están a la misma hora y tienes que esperar para que te asignen tu góndola y lo que es peor, ir con todas las góndolas juntas en un "tráfico caótico" por los canales de Venecia. No está del todo mal pero si se espera un poco más de privacidad y tranquilidad para disfrutar de la vista y la ciudad, sobretodo, al atardecer

Strengths

Reserva previa y asegurada

Weaknesses

Muchas personas contigo y muchas góndolas al mismo tiempo


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear Juliana L.,

we are sorry you were not completely satisfied with our tour! Please note that you booked a collective tour, as clearly indicated both in the ‘important information’ section on the tour page and on the voucher… Next time, if you wish to have a more intimate experience, we suggest you our private gondola ride tour!

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
1
Show more reviews