Gondola Ride

Duration: approx. 30 minutes  Location: Venice
This tour was already booked by 19,464 people

8.5/10

55 Reviews

Per person
32.00
Gallery

Why choose this experience?

1 To discover the small and picturesque narrow channels that can only be reached by gondola
2 Because you will admire Venice from the water to capture the charm and magic of this city
3 To enjoy an amazing gondola ride at an extremely favourable cost

Are you wondering 'What is a gondola ride'? This gondola ride in Venice will take you to discover some new and not very well-known areas of one of the most beautiful cities in the world, Venice, during the bright and sunny months!

A charming gondola ride in Venice, Italy in the summer, to admire the majestic architectural masterpieces overlooking the water, a succession of bridges and views from a typical gondola ride in Venice, at a very affordable cost. From the Basilica della Salute on the Grand Canal to the intimate and evocative atmosphere of the smaller canals around the La Fenice Theatre in Venice: a gondola ride at competitive prices and booked directly online.

During the gondola ride in Venice, Italy you can admire the famous Basilica della Salute from the outside, a majestic building that stands in the suggestive landscape of St Mark's Basin and the Grand Canal. Built and designed by Baldassare Longhena, a renowned architect and sculptor of the Venetian Republic, the basilica offers different perspective views according to the point from which it is observed. Considered one of the finest examples of Baroque architecture in Venice, the basilica is a votive offering to the Virgin Mary by the inhabitants of Venice to eradicate the plague of the seventeenth century.

Leaving the Grand Canal you will be able to delve deeper in the picturesque smaller canals of Venice, where you can admire a not very well known Venice whilst being gently lulled by the calm sway along the typical the canals of Venice.

Gondola rides in Venice, Italy will take you to the most famous theatre in Venice, La Fenice, to admire its stunning exteriors from the water. Located in the district of San Marco, La Fenice is the main opera house in Venice, and sadly notorious for being repeatedly destroyed by fire and rebuilt. Its construction dates back to 1790, designed by Giannantonio Selva. During the nineteenth century this famous theatre in Venice hosted the opening concert of many great Italian composers such as Rossini, Bellini, Verdi and Donizetti.

A gondola ride in Venice at a very competitive price! Treat yourself to the surreal atmosphere of Venice from the water, you will experience unique and unforgettable moments. The cost of the tour in a gondola is already established: you only need to go to the meeting point and board this charming gondola ride.

© Insidecom Tour Operator
(authorization no. 62027 dated 09/07/12 with determination no. 2052/2012)

Important info

Availability:

all year, except for 25 December and 1 January.

Departure point:

Calle Larga Ascensione, in front of St. Mark's Post Office located behind Correr Museum.

Departure time

Daily

From 1 April to 31 October
11.00 am
3.00 pm
5.15 pm

From 1 November to 31 March
11.00 am
3.00 pm

Languages available

No explanations during the tour.

Prices

From 1 April to 31 October
Full: €32.00
Concessions
Children up to 1 year: free

From 1 November to 31 March
Full: €32.00
Concessions
Children up to 1 year: free

Duration
approx. 30 minutes
Inclusions
  • Gondola ride
Exclusions
  • What is not specified under "Inclusions"
  • Guided visit
Additional information:

Before booking, please be advised that it is compulsory to print a paper copy of the voucher issued at the end of the online reservation and bring it with you the day of the tour.

No credit or refunds will be given in the case of a NO SHOW (if you don't show up at the meeting point at the time indicated on your voucher).

Please arrive at the meeting point at least 10 minutes before the tour departure time. At the tour departure point you will meet a representative who will check your vouchers and give you information to do the tour.

This is a collective tour, which means there might be other participants going on the tour with you.

The tour might be suspended in case of bad weather. In such cases you are required to go to the departure point in order to know whether the tour takes place or not and any alternative ways to use the service.

A gondola can host up to 6 people, thus if your reservation includes more than 6 people, your group will be divided into smaller groups, or rather you will enjoy different gondolas. Please bear in mind that this is a collective tour, so there might be other people enjoying your same gondola. In this case people belonging to your reservation can  be divided into different gondolas.

In exceptional cases and/or reasons of force majeure that may prevent the tour already purchased to run regularly (i.e. acts of nature, strikes, exceptional closures, serious unexpected events or health problems experienced by the person in charge with the service after which it is really impossible to find a substitute), the tour might be cancelled. The customer will be notified of this as soon as possible and will be asked to choose between postponing the tour on the first date available or receiving a prompt refund of the price paid for the tour, if the cancellation policy of the service itself allows a refund.

Departure point map

55 reviews for Gondola Ride

Reviews in other languages (24) Reviews in italian (31)
8.5/10

Write a review

10/10

Billy Rose

August 2017

Mature couple

UNITED STATES

Reviewed on 16 Sep `17 - Booking No. 17158903

'Luca Rocks!'

Tour
Gondola Ride

Venice is best seen from the waterline, and this is the best way to do it! That said, our gondolier Luca made the experience great. We chose a group tour, and we two mature Yanks had the pleasure of riding with two young Aussies and an Italian expat. The five of us were able to get Luca to tell his story, to laugh at us, and to show off his helmsmanship. He also had us perfectly placed to see the Parade of the Gondoliers at Santa Maria della Salute. To the detractors of group tours: if you have a positive attitude and don't act like an Ugly American, you will enjoy yourself much more.

Strengths

Preset price, and a guaranteed seat. LUCA!!!

Weaknesses

None we could see.

Was this review helpful?
5/10

wooncherk

August 2017

Mature couple

MALAYSIA

Reviewed on 21 Aug `17 - Booking No. 17122882 - Service sold by a Distribution Partner of Insidecom srl

'You can get a gondola ride at €2.00'

Tour
Gondola Ride

Don't waste your money on this. Don't get me wrong, gondola ride is fun. But the service is not. Basically the gondolier just row you through various canals in Venice, WITHOUT any sort of communication. Not even a smile. I know this is a package service without serenade (which can be bought at a much more expensive price), but a simple "hi" would have made the experience even better. So basically, you are just sitting on the gondola like a dumb. The gondolier just did his job of rowing, no explanation of any sort. If that's the case, you might as well take the €2.00 ride: http://www.italymagazine.com/news/gondola-ride-two-euros (I got to know this after being told by my local Venetian guide. Unfortunately, I have already booked my ride)

Strengths

Experience beautiful scenery of Venice via gondola.

Weaknesses

Bad experience. Zero communication between the gondolier and the passenger, not even a friendly smile.


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear Wooncherk,


We are sorry that the gondola ride did not match your expectations.
As for the explanations you expected from the gondolier, please consider that they are not included in the tour you reserved, as we clearly specify on our gondola ride webpage.
A for the suggestion you give to replace this experience with a much cheaper €2.00 ride, we are really surprised you called "gondola ride" what is in fact a completely different service.
First of all, it does not consist of a gondola ride but of a mere canal crossing from a side to the other, lasting approximately 2 minutes instead of our 30-minute tour.
Secondly, it is not provided with a real gondola but with a different boat, which is bigger and does not allow people to relax by sitting comfortably.
As for the gondolier, we sincerely apologize for his behaviour. Unfortunately it is not easy to find 100% reliable and professional gondoliers and some of them do not care about customer satisfaction so much. We can assure you that we are already working in order to penalize gondoliers who did not prove to have a proper behaviour towards our customers.

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
9/10

Steven

May 2017

Group of friends

UNITED STATES

Reviewed on 01 Jun `17 - Booking No. 1757750 - Service sold by a Distribution Partner of Insidecom srl

'Fun little ride'

Tour
Gondola Ride

Fun, scenic, soothing - wish it went a little longer but overall not bad for the price.

Strengths

Affordable, scenic

Weaknesses

Somewhat short but still ok

Was this review helpful?
3/10

Jen

April 2017

Group of friends

UNITED STATES

Reviewed on 19 May `17 - Booking No. 1714924

'Gonolda Ride'

Tour
Gondola Ride

This gondola ride was not the experience we were hoping for. It felt like a group of cattle being pushed onto their boats as quick as possible and then being told to get off as quick as possible since the time you pick ends up being at least 30 other people at the same time. I would not recommend this tour to anyone. Our gondolier yelled personal conversations to other gondliers which ruined the ride even more. The ride only lasted 20 minutes at most. Horrible experience especially since for the same price we could have had a private ride with the correct amount of time and it would have been more peaceful had we just picked one of the numerous companies available in person.


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear Jen,

we are sorry that the gondola ride was not as you expected. You booked a collective tour and not a private one, thus you should have been warned about the fact that there would have been other people. During the peak season, the groups may be very large but the staff on duty at the meeting point always do its best to handle the situation properly. We apologize for the behaviour of the gondolier, unfortunately it is not easy to find 100% reliable and professional gondoliers… Some of them do not care about customer satisfaction at all! We can assure you that we are already working in order to penalize gondoliers who did not prove to have a proper behaviour towards our customers. Next time, if you are interested in a private experience, we suggest you our private gondola ride.

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
10/10

Ale

September 2016

Solo traveler

UNITED STATES

Reviewed on 12 Oct `16 - Booking No. 16118884

'Great experience!'

Tour
Gondola Ride

I was debating on whether to splurge on a solo gondola ride in Venice or to use this service and get a lower price for my ride. Being a frugal traveler, I opted to pre-book my gondola ride and go with a group. The meeting place was very easy to find, and if you show up early/on time then you'll have no issues finding your guide. As a single rider I was placed with a family of 5 and they were kind enough to take some lovely photos of me on the gondola (which I wouldn't have had if I had hired a gondola for just myself!). The ride was quiet, but we also went down the Grand Canal just long enough to get some magnificent views. Overall, I was very pleased with my experience and this service is something I will recommend highly to any friends traveling to Venice.

Was this review helpful?
5
5/10

maryd

September 2016

Other

UNITED STATES

Reviewed on 07 Oct `16 - Booking No. 16115736

'Mixed'

Tour
Gondola Ride

I had booked a seat for my travel companion and me. He was unable to come so I requested that I be put into a gondola with just 4 other people since I had paid for two places. The person who was in charge was very rude in refusing my request. Another ticket holder came up to me and invited me to join their group of 4. When we were being seated, the same person originally refused that request only relenting when the others insisting. The ride itself was good - very nice Gondolier and this was a good way to experience a gondola ride at a reasonable price.

Strengths

Inexpensive way to capture the gondola experience.

Weaknesses

Placement of seats was awkward.


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear maryd,

we are sorry for the rude behavior of the staff! Please consider that your travel companion, who didn’t show up at the meeting point in time for the departure time of the tour, was considered as a NO-SHOW and therefore the voucher was valid only for you... Unfortunately, this is our policy. Anyway we are pleased you enjoyed the tour despite the inconvenience at the beginning!

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
7.5/10

Juliana L.

September 2016

Young couple

ARGENTINA

Reviewed on 01 Oct `16 - Booking No. 16100540

'Paseo de Góndola'

Tour
Gondola Ride

El paseo es tal cuál lo ofrecido: 30 minutos sin comentarios por parte del gondolero ni música. Lo que no te dicen es que hay otras 100 personas que están a la misma hora y tienes que esperar para que te asignen tu góndola y lo que es peor, ir con todas las góndolas juntas en un "tráfico caótico" por los canales de Venecia. No está del todo mal pero si se espera un poco más de privacidad y tranquilidad para disfrutar de la vista y la ciudad, sobretodo, al atardecer

Strengths

Reserva previa y asegurada

Weaknesses

Muchas personas contigo y muchas góndolas al mismo tiempo


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear Juliana L.,

we are sorry you were not completely satisfied with our tour! Please note that you booked a collective tour, as clearly indicated both in the ‘important information’ section on the tour page and on the voucher… Next time, if you wish to have a more intimate experience, we suggest you our private gondola ride tour!

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
8.5/10

Saintgauden

September 2016

Mature couple

UNITED STATES

Reviewed on 01 Oct `16 - Booking No. 1662574

'Exactly what we were looking for...for the right price.'

Tour
Gondola Ride

Exactly what we were looking for...for the right price.

Strengths

Cheap, conveniently located, good gondola experience.

Weaknesses

You are with one or two other couples.

Was this review helpful?
1
0.5/10

Ashley

September 2016

Group of friends

CANADA

Reviewed on 28 Sep `16 - Booking No. 1666620

'Mrs.'

Tour
Gondola Ride

Do not waste your money on this gondola ride. It was literally 10 minutes of gondola ride and the rest was getting into the boat and waiting in line to get out of the boat. The boat seats 6 people, but unfortunately 1 of the seats is at the front of the boat facing backwards, so if you are a couple you will get split up. This was the case for my fiancé and I. I sat at the front seat but I wanted to face the front of the boat to see the sights rather than face the back of the boat looking at the other 5 people. In order to face the front I had to actually sit on the ground of the boat. It was such a short, unromantic boat ride and a complete waste of money. Do not do this gondola ride if you are a couple looking for a romantic boat ride in Venice.


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear Ashley,

we are sorry you were not satisfied with this tour. Unfortunately you purchased a collective gondola ride and so had to share the experience with other people who booked the same tour. Next time, if you are interested in a more intimate experience, we suggest you to book our private gondola ride.

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
1
9/10

Wendoline

April 2016

Young couple

UNITED STATES

Reviewed on 18 May `16 - Booking No. 1617941

'Would have been perfect except for the seating and the selfie sticks.'

Tour
Gondola Ride

There is just something so special and magical about a Gondola ride. The only reason I would detract a point is due to the seating arrangements, which are very strange. There's two in front of the Gondolier, two on side, three on the other side and then one opposite the Gondolier. This ended up with my partner and I split up between the row with three and the seat opposite the Gondolier. This isn't really a big deal if you're just a group of friends, but splitting up a couple that way, on something that's supposed to be a romantic activity kind of took away from the experience for us. There should be more care taken in seating people to make sure couples get to stick together. Also, it'd be nice if selfie sticks could get banned. The couple sitting next to me whacked me on the head at least twice and hit me on the arms and blocked my view several others. That also made it less than perfect. Otherwise, it was very nice, if incredibly quiet since our Gondolier didn't even try to talk.

Strengths

Beautiful views of the canals and the city.

Weaknesses

Seating arrangements could result in couples getting split up and not being able to chat with each other. Group activity with strangers.


Reply by venetoinside.com Staff

Dear Wendoline,

we are pleased you appreciated the gondola ride despite the inconveniences you mentioned in your review. First of all, please consider that you booked a collective tour as we specify both on the the voucher and on the important info online... Therefore it is not always possibile to sit wherever you prefer but only in the places that are still free. As for the selfie stick… We think the problem was related to the people that were using it and not to the object itself! Unfortunately we cannot do anything to prevent the rude behaviour of some people and certainly we cannot forbid people to take photo during the ride. Concerning the gondolier, please note that the tour does not include explanations so any information the gondolier decides to give is only at his personal discretion.

Best regards,
The venetoinside.com staff
Was this review helpful?
Show more reviews

Check dates

Select language
Choose a date
Input data


Total price
0.00